Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My version only uses turkey or beef, but this is a winner! My mom is of Lithuanian descent, and these are always a special treat for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Delecious and filling. Great meal for a dish to pass gathering. I like to add some V/8 for a little spicer dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I love these! Although , I do not bake mine. I just let them simmer in tomato sauce for about an hour. They are great with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
A definite keeper!!! Very easy recipe and super tasty, my family has requested to add this on the weekly menu. I cooked mine in a crockpot. In a saucepan -- mixed the canned tomatoes, tomato sauce & chicken stock, cooked to a rolling boil. Meat mix was 3-lbs ground beef & 3-lbs italian sweet sausage, increaesd rice to 2.5C. Scooped sauce in the crockpot, layered the cabbage rolls and sauce. Cooked in crockpot for 2-hrs. Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A great starter recipe. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork. Since I reduced the portion of meat, I also reduced the amount of rice to 1.5cups. To perk up the flavor I used 4 cloves of garlic. I also seasoned the meat well when cooking, with onion powder, garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, salt and pepper. To the meat/rice mixture I included a few splashes of V8 (until moistened). To the tomatoes I substituted the chicken broth for water in which the cabbage was cooked in. I also added approximately a cup of V8 to the tomato sauce. I only made one pan and it cooked perfectly in 1.5 hours. Served with sour cream and it made a delightful meal with plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I will definitely be making this again!!! Because some of the other reviewers said it came out bland, I did add some spices to the meat mixture as well as the can of V8 others suggested. I put in Basil, Rosemary and a little extra dill weed. I also omitted the extra 1 1/2 pounds ground beef and was able to squeeze it all in one pan. I didn’t have veal and didn’t want to completely overwhelm the pork flavor with too much beef. My husband loved the way it came out. I was looking for a Sarmale recipe because he is from Romania but this came pretty close. The cabbage just isn’t as salty as Sarmale but the meat was delicious. oh, one more thing! I would recommend serving with a dollop of sour cream. It really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It is spelled Gwumpkies in polish. Great recipe. As for the critical review this recipe is very traditional except for the sage pork sausage and comes from poor regions in the old country (Europe) and is bland because there was very little money for anything. I like to perk up the flavor myself. For a recipe this size here's how, first don't drain the meat dry in a colander leave some fat in, use at least 1-tsp salt in the meat, in the sauce add the following, 2-tsp salt, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and my secret ingredient is ketchup to taste about 3/4c. However you could also use 1/4 to 1/2c apple cider vinegar or a(small or large) can of sour kraut instead of ketchup. The ketchup, vinegar or kraut really step up the flavor and give that little twang to the taste buds. I feel the need here to remind people, start with less you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is the way cabbage rolls should be made My Grandma is from Poland I do not use red pepper flakes or dill weed But I Do use 1 teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic 2 bay leaves and once in awhile a good pinch of thyme also a splash of apple cider vinegar or 1/2 of a squeezed lemon and maybe a teaspoon or 2 of white or brown sugar(I cheat and use Splenda) to make it a little zesty and bring out flavors very subtly all in all this recipe is and with or without tomatoes but I like it with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
keep in mind that this recipe yields 60 rolls!! When I'm making them for a small group, I usually half the recipe. The only thing I ever change in this recipe is the meat mix - I use ground pork and ground beef. I also serve mine with sour cream on the side. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good. We used 80% 20% pork and it came out just fine; definitely need to bump-up the amount of herbs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States