Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My mother-in-law from Poland and I have watched and learned how to make it. Only changes I do are - I use 60% ground beef to 40% ground pork. Basically like what some would use for a meat loaf mixture. Also I brown a chopped onion with about 4-6 slices of bacon and add to the meat/rice mixture. When you boil the cabbage leaves, save the water that it is cooked in and use instead of chicken broth. My mother in law insists on this step! Great to make a day ahead of company and reheat, the flavors are even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I love these! Although , I do not bake mine. I just let them simmer in tomato sauce for about an hour. They are great with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A great starter recipe. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork. Since I reduced the portion of meat, I also reduced the amount of rice to 1.5cups. To perk up the flavor I used 4 cloves of garlic. I also seasoned the meat well when cooking, with onion powder, garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, salt and pepper. To the meat/rice mixture I included a few splashes of V8 (until moistened). To the tomatoes I substituted the chicken broth for water in which the cabbage was cooked in. I also added approximately a cup of V8 to the tomato sauce. I only made one pan and it cooked perfectly in 1.5 hours. Served with sour cream and it made a delightful meal with plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I will definitely be making this again!!! Because some of the other reviewers said it came out bland, I did add some spices to the meat mixture as well as the can of V8 others suggested. I put in Basil, Rosemary and a little extra dill weed. I also omitted the extra 1 1/2 pounds ground beef and was able to squeeze it all in one pan. I didn’t have veal and didn’t want to completely overwhelm the pork flavor with too much beef. My husband loved the way it came out. I was looking for a Sarmale recipe because he is from Romania but this came pretty close. The cabbage just isn’t as salty as Sarmale but the meat was delicious. oh, one more thing! I would recommend serving with a dollop of sour cream. It really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Delecious and filling. Great meal for a dish to pass gathering. I like to add some V/8 for a little spicer dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It is spelled Gwumpkies in polish. Great recipe. As for the critical review this recipe is very traditional except for the sage pork sausage and comes from poor regions in the old country (Europe) and is bland because there was very little money for anything. I like to perk up the flavor myself. For a recipe this size here's how, first don't drain the meat dry in a colander leave some fat in, use at least 1-tsp salt in the meat, in the sauce add the following, 2-tsp salt, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and my secret ingredient is ketchup to taste about 3/4c. However you could also use 1/4 to 1/2c apple cider vinegar or a(small or large) can of sour kraut instead of ketchup. The ketchup, vinegar or kraut really step up the flavor and give that little twang to the taste buds. I feel the need here to remind people, start with less you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My version only uses turkey or beef, but this is a winner! My mom is of Lithuanian descent, and these are always a special treat for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Exactly the way my mother makes it. Like the above reviewer,I also add V-8 juice, it really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
keep in mind that this recipe yields 60 rolls!! When I'm making them for a small group, I usually half the recipe. The only thing I ever change in this recipe is the meat mix - I use ground pork and ground beef. I also serve mine with sour cream on the side. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Leave out the venison/beef and pork and increase rice abit. I could eat these 24/7 and never tire of them. Top with sour cream and a sprinkling of chopped up salt pork and I am whisked back to memories of Baba's meals. Add some borscht and we are all set. I have never visited my familiy's homeland, the Ukraine, but imagine eating Holupchi over there when I prepare these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States