Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good. We used 80% 20% pork and it came out just fine; definitely need to bump-up the amount of herbs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
A definite keeper!!! Very easy recipe and super tasty, my family has requested to add this on the weekly menu. I cooked mine in a crockpot. In a saucepan -- mixed the canned tomatoes, tomato sauce & chicken stock, cooked to a rolling boil. Meat mix was 3-lbs ground beef & 3-lbs italian sweet sausage, increaesd rice to 2.5C. Scooped sauce in the crockpot, layered the cabbage rolls and sauce. Cooked in crockpot for 2-hrs. Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Penaflorida-Lotto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
keep in mind that this recipe yields 60 rolls!! When I'm making them for a small group, I usually half the recipe. The only thing I ever change in this recipe is the meat mix - I use ground pork and ground beef. I also serve mine with sour cream on the side. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Leave out the venison/beef and pork and increase rice abit. I could eat these 24/7 and never tire of them. Top with sour cream and a sprinkling of chopped up salt pork and I am whisked back to memories of Baba's meals. Add some borscht and we are all set. I have never visited my familiy's homeland, the Ukraine, but imagine eating Holupchi over there when I prepare these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My husband is from Russia. I made this as a surprise and he LOVED it! He said it tasted just like back home. I really liked it too. I followed other comments so I added a little more seasoning to the mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A great starter recipe. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork. Since I reduced the portion of meat, I also reduced the amount of rice to 1.5cups. To perk up the flavor I used 4 cloves of garlic. I also seasoned the meat well when cooking, with onion powder, garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, salt and pepper. To the meat/rice mixture I included a few splashes of V8 (until moistened). To the tomatoes I substituted the chicken broth for water in which the cabbage was cooked in. I also added approximately a cup of V8 to the tomato sauce. I only made one pan and it cooked perfectly in 1.5 hours. Served with sour cream and it made a delightful meal with plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My mother-in-law from Poland and I have watched and learned how to make it. Only changes I do are - I use 60% ground beef to 40% ground pork. Basically like what some would use for a meat loaf mixture. Also I brown a chopped onion with about 4-6 slices of bacon and add to the meat/rice mixture. When you boil the cabbage leaves, save the water that it is cooked in and use instead of chicken broth. My mother in law insists on this step! Great to make a day ahead of company and reheat, the flavors are even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I will definitely be making this again!!! Because some of the other reviewers said it came out bland, I did add some spices to the meat mixture as well as the can of V8 others suggested. I put in Basil, Rosemary and a little extra dill weed. I also omitted the extra 1 1/2 pounds ground beef and was able to squeeze it all in one pan. I didn’t have veal and didn’t want to completely overwhelm the pork flavor with too much beef. My husband loved the way it came out. I was looking for a Sarmale recipe because he is from Romania but this came pretty close. The cabbage just isn’t as salty as Sarmale but the meat was delicious. oh, one more thing! I would recommend serving with a dollop of sour cream. It really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made these for dinner and found them to be bland. They also didn't have enough sauce for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States