Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Equess3n's friend got the "Hand out Recipe" that leaves out the secret ingredient. Change the milk to evaporated milk and eliminate the sugar and you've got the Gulliver's cream corn that all Californian's came to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I used Evaporated milk over the regular milk No MSG I made it the day before Thanksgiving and the day of I took it out of the refrigerator an hour and a half before dinner. Let it sit out to come to room temperature. A half hour before dinner I added a parmesan cheese to the top with a thin layer of dried bread crumbs and a T. of butter and put it in the oven at 350 to heat back up. This was very good!! Everyone ate it and really enjoyed it. My brother in law who said he "hated" cream corn tried it. He said "I had not had this since I was a kid -- my tastes must have changed -- THIS IS SO GREAT!" His wife then told him "this is not the garbage out of the can -- and calling this 'cream corn' is an insult." This recipe is going in my bag of tricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
My family has been making this for the holidays since the early 70's when we use to eat at Gullivers in Southern California. In fact, I am required to bring it to every holiday meal or I dont think I would be let in the door! The original recipe includes parmesan cheese doted with butter sprinkled on top and then is browned under the broiler for a few mins. Definately an only once or twice a year treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Super easy and delicious. I made half the recipe exactly as written using cayenne pepper and no MSG. Just before serving I added shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've been making the recipe for the last 8 years. It's a holiday staple in my house and my family and guests ABSOLUTELY love it. I melt the butter in the microwave and then blend flour into it finally I add it to the corn mixture and let simmer. Pour into to a serving dish and just put a dash of cayenne pepper before serving. This side dish is HONESTLY TO DIE FOR!!! IMO, you don't need the accent or msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I was surprised by how well this turns out. A nice, homey creamed corn with a little bit of pizazz. I prefer it with cayenne pepper- a nice kick. I did make a few changes: I added some nutmeg to warm it up. I'd never use MSG- some people are allergic, and a good cook knows how to create enough flavor without it! Finally, I substituted milk for the whipping cream and light butter for the butter, and it was just fine, if not quite as yummy as with richer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe is a family favorite of ours. Made as is, with the exception of the MSG. Yes, it is wonderfully rich, but that's why we serve it only for holiday dinners! Have only received rave reviews and recipe requests for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Very good! Note to self: adding 2 oz cream cheese makes this perfect when scaled for 6 servings using a 2 lb bag of corn. (serves 10/12 for holiday meals) Use immersion blender to break up a bit (1/8 to 1/4) of the corn for a more "creamed corn" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I wanted to try something a little different as a vegetable for Christmas dinner. Although I find canned creamed corn yucky, this recipe appealed to me. It was simple and quick to put together as the turkey was resting. I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk and used a little cayenne and a little white pepper. I may increase the cayenne slightly the next time. As promised, it thickened up beautifully but didn't get gloppy as it sat on the table. This was well liked by everyone and something that I will enclude in special future dinners. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this recipe this weekend for a bbq cook-off. It was great!! I increased the serving size to 30 and it was the best corn I have ever had and so easy to make! Thank you for sharing this recipe, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States