Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I was surprised by how well this turns out. A nice, homey creamed corn with a little bit of pizazz. I prefer it with cayenne pepper- a nice kick. I did make a few changes: I added some nutmeg to warm it up. I'd never use MSG- some people are allergic, and a good cook knows how to create enough flavor without it! Finally, I substituted milk for the whipping cream and light butter for the butter, and it was just fine, if not quite as yummy as with richer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe is a family favorite of ours. Made as is, with the exception of the MSG. Yes, it is wonderfully rich, but that's why we serve it only for holiday dinners! Have only received rave reviews and recipe requests for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best creamed corn ever. It is easy to make and everyone I have made it for has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I was looking for something different to go with our prime rib dinner at Christmas and having been to Gullivers in the past, I recall this is the only place I've ever liked cream corn. Tried it on the hubby and kids the other night and they all LOVED it! This will definately be on our table this holiday. (I too left out the MSG and it was excellent!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is great creamed corn! I am using this in a recipe that calls for creamed corn, but I didn't have any. This tastes just wonderful. I want to go get it and have a big bowl right now, but I can't. I put half the thawed corn in a food processer to make the consistency more like canned corn. This is much better than canned corn, though. You really don't need to change anything, except I didn't use the MSG because I have an allergy. I thought it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've been making the recipe for the last 8 years. It's a holiday staple in my house and my family and guests ABSOLUTELY love it. I melt the butter in the microwave and then blend flour into it finally I add it to the corn mixture and let simmer. Pour into to a serving dish and just put a dash of cayenne pepper before serving. This side dish is HONESTLY TO DIE FOR!!! IMO, you don't need the accent or msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this recipe this weekend for a bbq cook-off. It was great!! I increased the serving size to 30 and it was the best corn I have ever had and so easy to make! Thank you for sharing this recipe, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Easy and tasty, entire family loves it everytime I make it. I use half and half and no MSG. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Oddly enough, this is the exact same recipe as the one on this site by Diana Yockey. The only differences are the amount of corn, hers calls for Parmesan cheese, and this one uses MSG. I fixed this tonight as a change of pace from regular corn. My 4-year-old and I had dinner with my parents and grandmother. Everyone loved this corn! My dad said it was a bit sweet for his taste, and I used Splenda in place of the sugar (he cannot eat refined sugars). I also did not use the MSG. I used the better 2/3 of a 28 oz bag of frozen corn. A bit too much sauce for that amount - next time will make sure to use the whole bag (it was all they had). I think 2 (20 oz) bags will be too much. I just dumped everything in the pan except the flour and milk - mixed flour into the milk before adding to rest of ingredients. All in all, a great change of pace. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe - I left out the MSG and it was great!!! It doesn't need the flavor enhancer, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States