Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I used Evaporated milk over the regular milk No MSG I made it the day before Thanksgiving and the day of I took it out of the refrigerator an hour and a half before dinner. Let it sit out to come to room temperature. A half hour before dinner I added a parmesan cheese to the top with a thin layer of dried bread crumbs and a T. of butter and put it in the oven at 350 to heat back up. This was very good!! Everyone ate it and really enjoyed it. My brother in law who said he "hated" cream corn tried it. He said "I had not had this since I was a kid -- my tastes must have changed -- THIS IS SO GREAT!" His wife then told him "this is not the garbage out of the can -- and calling this 'cream corn' is an insult." This recipe is going in my bag of tricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is the original recipe from Gulliver's Prime Rib in Irvine, CA. This is our favorite side dish at the restaurant, and we always request seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Wow! This is awesome. It will now be a Thanksgiving regular, fattening as it is. I like my vegetables a little on the crisp side, so I made the sauce and let it thicken real good and then I steamed the corn for a couple of minutes then added it to the sauce. It was so good, but I do need to save it for once or twice a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Gulliver's and I go back to the 70's, when it was one of my husband's and my favorite restaurants. They served the creamed corn with prime rib, creamed spinach and Yorkshire pudding. Fabulous! I've been making the creamed corn from this recipe ever since. The original recipe called for 8 ears of corn, cut from the cob; 1 cup whipping cream; 2 tsp salt; 1 tsp sugar; 2 tsp butter, plus extra for topping; 2 tsp flour; and grated Parmesan cheese. (I omitted the MSG.) The directions are very much the same as your version; however, instead of fussing with the broiler, I brown it with the "flame thrower" I use for creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was served at Gulliver's Restaurant in Irvine by the OC Airport back in the early 70's and was published in a local magazine back then. I cut it out and have been making it off and on when I'm not obsessing about cholesterol and calories. It is THE BEST creamed corn recipe you will EVER try. Variation is to put the finished corn in a heat proof casserole, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and place under a broiler until evently browned. Just makes it a little prettier, but it gets messy quick when everybody digs in!!!!! Your casserole will get licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Wow! I didn't think I liked cream corn. Turns out I just don't like canned cream corn. I was in a bind when I realized that the Absolute Mexican Cornbread called for cream corn and I didn't have it...since I thought that I didn't like it. I made this with fat-free half and half and I omitted the MSG. This was really good. I will even be making this as a side dish, now, and not just for use in another recipe. Also, as a sidenote for those of you who do like canned cream corn, this is much better and so easy! Thanks EQUESS3N!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Absolutely the best! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Delicious and very easy! I lightened it up by using evaporated milk instead of whipping cream. Also I used replaced the regular salt with a salt seasoning blend and left out the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My family loves this recipe! (My kids especially like it because it reminds them of corn, cream, and pepper in Nacho Libre). I have made it a few times and it is so easy to make. You can substitute half and half or milk to lighten the recipe up. The last time I made this I used mostly skim milk with a little half and half and that turned out just as good (you might have to add a little more flour for it to thicken up). Definitely use a good quality frozen sweet corn, and as others have said, skip the msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States