Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. My mom used to make it and now I make it every year for Thanksgiving. I make it the day before so all I have to do is reheat it. Less work on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Super easy and delicious. I made half the recipe exactly as written using cayenne pepper and no MSG. Just before serving I added shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was fast, easy and delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used half and half rather than milk and whipping cream. I did not use MSG, just aprox 1/8 t ceyenne pepper. DELICIOUS!! My picky husband loved it. Finaly a nice holiday vegetable that he will eat! Thanks Debby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was fantastic! I couldn't find MSG so I used Johnny's poultry seasoning instead (it contains MSG). I had to add twice as much flour to thicken it up. I then transferred it to a baking dish, sprinkled w/ parmesan cheese and baked at 375 until cheese was melted. It was delicious and there were no leftovers!Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yekaterina81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving '08. Everyone loved it! Easy & tasted just as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
LOVE this recipe. The cream corn was a favorite at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HH<3'sJH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I worked at the Gullivers in Marina del Rey for years and I personally know that this is not the TRUE recipe, although works, is not the real flavor. We used to give out a card/recipe to those who asked for it but it was NOT the recipe. And we used to snicker about it as if "they only knew". I make this every Thanksgiving and is a huge hit of course. The MSG is key (but they didn't want anyone to know) to the recipe! It's two tablespoons(!) and the sugar measurements are 4/5 tablespoons, but you even it out with more salt if needed(to taste). The whipping cream, milk measurement...must cover the corn (equal amounts of each) to be the PERFECT consistency. We never used parmesean cheese or cheyenne pepper, just white pepper. Add more butter/flour mixture to make a chili like consistency, never thick, unless you like it that way. Just my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family used to eat at Gulliver's and the thing I remember the most is the cream corn. I am so happy I found this recipe, and so is my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My mother has been making this FOR MANY, MANY years, and has always kept it as a "secret" recipe. She brings it to just about every pot luck dinner, simply because it is requested by everyone. Everybody LOVES it, and always asks her for the recipe, but this is one she will not give out. She thought she was only one of a few people in the world that had this recipe....I'm gonna have to break the news to her that her precious recipe is here for all to see...sorry mom!! =( ONE PROBLEM.... This version of the recipe says to use 2- 20oz packages of corn, but you should only be using one. It will not be creamy enough if you use two. If you're going to make a double-batch, (which we always do), then use 2 packages of corn, but make sure you DOUBLE the rest of the recipe. That is the ONLY change this recipe needs!!! I wouldn't add or omit a single thing (besides the msg for health reasons)! This is one recipe that does not need to be "tweaked" in any way. (This is a fantastic recipe, and I recommend it to everybody. It is NOTHING like canned cream corn, (which I dislike very much). This one is a FOR SURE keeper! You are priviledged to have this recipe!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good I would not use more than 1 tsp of white pepper tho.... Made the night before and shreaded parm cheese put in over. Heated for 15 minutes on 375, 3 inches from burner to melt cheese and warm. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States