Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Holy cream corn Batman! What an incredible recipe this is! And it's only about 100 calories. Per bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Amazing recipe. We followed it to a tee and it was outstanding. We used fresh milk and cream from the dairy and it was more like a main dish or dessert. To call it a "side dish" was an insult. People should follow the recipe before rating it, when you change it, add other ingredients and measurements, it is not the same recipe! I never add MSG and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used to love creamed corn as a little girl. There was one brand that made it (yes, canned) that was so good. And then they changed their recipe and now it's nasty. So, I've been on a quest of sorts to come up with something I love. I halved this recipe. We have two adults and three children in our family. You can't find 20 oz bags of corn around here, only 16, and that is enough to feed our family, and I didn't want leftovers in case we didn't like it. I used one can of evaporated milk instead of whipping cream and milk. I didn't use any MSG, sugar, or flour. I used both white and cayenne peppers, and added a little nutmeg, and some parmesan cheese. It was okay. Three out of five in our family hated it, one loved it, and I thought it was not bad but not great either. I probably won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Yum Yum. I use a potatoe masher to squash some of the corn for that creamed corn effect. Also I add just a bit more seasonings. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Mmmmmmmm...delicious! I made it pretty much as labeled, except I used heavy cream, instead of whipped, because that's what I had in the house. Hope to make it for the next big holiday to amaze my family and friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was to die for!!! Had this for Easter dinner with ham, scalloped potatoes, and brussel sprouts. Everyone RAVED over this dish. Only thing I did differently was add McCormick's Parmesan Herb seasoning blend to the mixture (as I noticed that other reviews said that the original had parmesan sprinkled over the top). Truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These are always requested. We love this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was good. I wouldn't say it's the best from this site based on others I've had but it CERTAINLY is BETTER than the canned stuff. I still prefer "Cream Corn Like No Other" from this site over this or some of the others made in the slow cooker. I will say that it was fast to prepare and very easy. I didn't use the Parmesan cheese like other reviewers suggested, maybe I'd give it a try that way sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Meh...this was ok. I still prefer the canned stuff. The only change I made was to use 10% cream because that's what I had and I used my immersion blender to give it a buzz and break down some of the corn kernals. In the end, the corn was ok - but very sweet. I would suggest leaving out the sugar...or at least reducing it by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong here but basically followed the recipe (except tried to cut the portions down a bit) and it came out liquidy and bland. Not enough bite/saltiness/sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States