Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My family hates canned creamed corn but ate this up. It was really easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
A nice change from canned cream corn. My family enjoyed it with baked ham and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Yes! This is it! I received this recipe from a waitress at Gulliver's in either Burlingame or San Mateo, CA (can't remember which) back in the early '80's. I misplaced my copy and came here to see if I could find it. This is exactly the same and I, too, leave out the MSG. Thanks so much!!! I am glad to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This IS the Gullivers recipe as I remember it. I got the card from the Waitress back in 1986. I lost the card but I am SO glad to find it here! Thank you. (I ALSO make it without the MSG BTW.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I thought this was just OK. With all of the fatty ingredients, I expected it to be a sure hit, but everyone was ambivalent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
THE ABSOLUTE BEST!! Loved it as is, but I made my own recipe for Thanksgiving, and it was/is to die for! I ate a bowl of this for lunch - and yes, I know how packed full of calories it is. It's definitely a once a year treat. My 8 year old son is already begging me to make it for Christmas. =) This is my recipe - http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62197705/Thanksgiving-Creamed-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I cut this in half and used half the amount of salt(used sea salt). I also used fresh ground pepper. I really enjoyed this as did my oldest but my husband and youngest were indifferent. I think had I not browned the flour in the butter, like I was starting a roux, this would have not been as good. I think that step is extremely important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Gulliver's is still open in Irvine, CA (Southern Cali). They give you the real recipe on their website http://www.gulliversrestaurant.com/cuisine.html FYI - Don't leave out the sugar!!! AND Don't add MSG!!! This is my favorite food in the whole world!!! Another FYI - the butter and flour part is much better when done on the stovetop - it is called a "roux".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
What a great side dish! I used 2% milk instead of cream, and I thought it tasted very rich. I can't wait to break this out at Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States