Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Good recipe. I was looking for "drippy corn" that hubby loves and had an abundance of fresh corn I'd cut off the cob. I avoid MSG, so I dashed with some soy sauce. I don't know who Gulliver is, but my Southern family enjoyed this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was good, but not quite what I had hoped. I used evaporated milk as suggested by other reviewers in place of regular milk. I also did not use any msg. However, I followed the directions exactly. It just didn't thicken up for me. I ended up adding a bit of cornstarch in desperation, which did help a little. It was good, but I'm not sure it'll be a repeat for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
NOW A FAMILY FAVORITE! EVEN THOSE WHO SAID THEY DIDN'T LIKE CREAMED CORN NOW REQUEST THIS!! I HAVE USED BOTH FRESH CORN TAKEN OFF THE COB AS WELL AS FROZEN, BOTH ARE EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is our favorite creamed corn year round! Try it with fresh in the summer corn, mmmm. I lighten it by using 1 C skim and 1 C 2 %, sometimes 1 C half and half instead of 2 %, use Smart Balance instead of butter, no MSG. I also use my stick blender and chop up what would be about equal to 1/3 of the finished corn mixture. Adjust sugar to sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is my 'go-to' Cream Corn recipe for holidays! I'm in So Calif and we still have a local Gulliver's. I've been making this more than 25 years. Got so popular I had to use a 5# bag of corn every Thanksgiving and Christmas! It's just the best in cream corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is very good! A hint: use Bragg's Liquid Aminos or a touch of tamari (richer soy sauce) for MSG's savory/umami flavor. Or add finely chopped sauteed mushrooms if the people eating it don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
One and only creamed corn recipe I'm trying. I have never made creamed corn and have only had it from a can prior to this. WOW its like 2 totally different things, my boyfriend said it was so good I should make it every night. We grow our own corn and was looking for a new corn sidedish to make. It was so good I'm going to make it for Thanks giving I think. I did not add the msg, used fresh ground black pepper instead of white or cayenne, and doubled the flour and butter. Was extra creamy , thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybee05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
AWESOME! Makes a generous amount and is always a crowd pleaser. I omit the MSG just as a personal preference - I have made it both ways (with and without) and can't really tell the difference. Truth be told, this recipe is so good I claim it as my own. No one has to know I'm not a culinary genious, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was good corn, but I think it would be better with fresh corn straight off the cob, vs. frozen corn. It just doesn't quite lose that 'frozen' taste. It's more like corn kernels in a cream sauce, rather than 'creamed corn'. We did add a diced (fresh) cayenne pepper for some heat and it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is good, but I'm looking for another one I found that was a little different. The taste wasn't quite there on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States