Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My family loves this recipe! (My kids especially like it because it reminds them of corn, cream, and pepper in Nacho Libre). I have made it a few times and it is so easy to make. You can substitute half and half or milk to lighten the recipe up. The last time I made this I used mostly skim milk with a little half and half and that turned out just as good (you might have to add a little more flour for it to thicken up). Definitely use a good quality frozen sweet corn, and as others have said, skip the msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
DElicIouS and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made this for part of a New Year's buffet. Not only was it easy, it was delicious as well. I left out the MSG and made with milk and evaporated milk, as that is what I had on hand. Can't wait to try with heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Equess3n's friend got the "Hand out Recipe" that leaves out the secret ingredient. Change the milk to evaporated milk and eliminate the sugar and you've got the Gulliver's cream corn that all Californian's came to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very rich... people either loved it or were indififerent to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Hamsik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yum. i let it medium boil for 15- 20 mins then add in the flour butter mixture. It thickened really quick to a nice creamy corn. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
My family has been making this for the holidays since the early 70's when we use to eat at Gullivers in Southern California. In fact, I am required to bring it to every holiday meal or I dont think I would be let in the door! The original recipe includes parmesan cheese doted with butter sprinkled on top and then is browned under the broiler for a few mins. Definately an only once or twice a year treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This is what creamed corn is supposed to taste like! I'm using it to make mexican cornbread. It's super yummy and of course fattening as all hell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe - I left out the MSG and it was great!!! It doesn't need the flavor enhancer, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Oddly enough, this is the exact same recipe as the one on this site by Diana Yockey. The only differences are the amount of corn, hers calls for Parmesan cheese, and this one uses MSG. I fixed this tonight as a change of pace from regular corn. My 4-year-old and I had dinner with my parents and grandmother. Everyone loved this corn! My dad said it was a bit sweet for his taste, and I used Splenda in place of the sugar (he cannot eat refined sugars). I also did not use the MSG. I used the better 2/3 of a 28 oz bag of frozen corn. A bit too much sauce for that amount - next time will make sure to use the whole bag (it was all they had). I think 2 (20 oz) bags will be too much. I just dumped everything in the pan except the flour and milk - mixed flour into the milk before adding to rest of ingredients. All in all, a great change of pace. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States