Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My mother has been making this FOR MANY, MANY years, and has always kept it as a "secret" recipe. She brings it to just about every pot luck dinner, simply because it is requested by everyone. Everybody LOVES it, and always asks her for the recipe, but this is one she will not give out. She thought she was only one of a few people in the world that had this recipe....I'm gonna have to break the news to her that her precious recipe is here for all to see...sorry mom!! =( ONE PROBLEM.... This version of the recipe says to use 2- 20oz packages of corn, but you should only be using one. It will not be creamy enough if you use two. If you're going to make a double-batch, (which we always do), then use 2 packages of corn, but make sure you DOUBLE the rest of the recipe. That is the ONLY change this recipe needs!!! I wouldn't add or omit a single thing (besides the msg for health reasons)! This is one recipe that does not need to be "tweaked" in any way. (This is a fantastic recipe, and I recommend it to everybody. It is NOTHING like canned cream corn, (which I dislike very much). This one is a FOR SURE keeper! You are priviledged to have this recipe!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was really good I would not use more than 1 tsp of white pepper tho.... Made the night before and shreaded parm cheese put in over. Heated for 15 minutes on 375, 3 inches from burner to melt cheese and warm. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
We have been using this recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas for OVER 10 years. No leftovers. You can use canned corn (drained) and it still turns out excellant. The resturant still exsists today in Orange County California. Its across for John Wayne Airport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very rich and delicious! I used fat-free half and half instead of whipping cream and milk and quite frankly I don't know how it could have been creamier or more rich with the real stuff. The kids ate it like it was going out of style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was the best corn I've ever had!! I followed the recipe exactly and used cayanne pepper. It gives it that added kick! Will be making this a regular at family functions. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Easy & delic! I used a 16 oz pckg of frozen corn and scaled back the other ingredients to serve for my family. It will definitely be used in my house for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
So good!!! Omitted the MSG (I'd NEVER put that in our food), did not use the flour either. I halved the recipe but kept the butter, sugar and salt the same. It was the best cream corn I ever tasted, will NEVER BUY CANNED AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made this with variations mentioned in orher reviews (omitted sugar, substituted evaporated milk for milk). Definitely a keeper! Next time I'll add some parmesan cheese as suggested by another reviewer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Wow. Wonderful for special occasions. And I did not use the MSG either. My kids loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This turned out very good. I cut the recipe in half and used one can of evaporated milk, a pinch of nutmeg, 1 tsp white pepper, 1 tsp cayenne pepperand a half teaspoon of sugar. I also upped the salt to suit or tastes. We like spicy food and this had just the right heat to it. My 3 year old devoured a whole big bowl. I think I'll add this to my Thanksgiving table this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States