Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I had this dish @ a Holiday Progressive Dinner, where you went from house to house, eating food @ people's houses. The catch: The food that was served was not made by the host family (ladies in the church drew a name of a HOST HOUSE & COURSE, then dropped it off at the house before the party started). Therefore, all the hostess could tell me about this dish was that it had CORN & WHIPPING CREAM. So when I got home that night, I looked it up here & found this recipe. I made it for my ENTIRE family of 22 on Christmas day, served alongside already prepared Ham, Turkey, mashed potatoes & stuffing. No one knew what was homemade & what was restaurant-bought! It was so good ... and so easy to make! My mom is recovering from complications involved with her cancer, so this was the first year that my dad & I were put to work in the kitchen (hince, the prepared turkey, ham, etc). It was fun introductin a new dish & starting a new tradition for us ... and it being so easy for me was the best part. I felt like a GROWN-UP (I turn 30 this year) cooking Christmas dinner for the first time. It was a success! This recipe is DELICIOUS ... and will be used for more than just HOLIDAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreschoolMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this on Chistmas day and it was a huge hit! I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libitina72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. My mom used to make it and now I make it every year for Thanksgiving. I make it the day before so all I have to do is reheat it. Less work on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Super easy and delicious. I made half the recipe exactly as written using cayenne pepper and no MSG. Just before serving I added shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was fast, easy and delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used half and half rather than milk and whipping cream. I did not use MSG, just aprox 1/8 t ceyenne pepper. DELICIOUS!! My picky husband loved it. Finaly a nice holiday vegetable that he will eat! Thanks Debby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was fantastic! I couldn't find MSG so I used Johnny's poultry seasoning instead (it contains MSG). I had to add twice as much flour to thicken it up. I then transferred it to a baking dish, sprinkled w/ parmesan cheese and baked at 375 until cheese was melted. It was delicious and there were no leftovers!Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yekaterina81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving '08. Everyone loved it! Easy & tasted just as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
LOVE this recipe. The cream corn was a favorite at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HH<3'sJH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I worked at the Gullivers in Marina del Rey for years and I personally know that this is not the TRUE recipe, although works, is not the real flavor. We used to give out a card/recipe to those who asked for it but it was NOT the recipe. And we used to snicker about it as if "they only knew". I make this every Thanksgiving and is a huge hit of course. The MSG is key (but they didn't want anyone to know) to the recipe! It's two tablespoons(!) and the sugar measurements are 4/5 tablespoons, but you even it out with more salt if needed(to taste). The whipping cream, milk measurement...must cover the corn (equal amounts of each) to be the PERFECT consistency. We never used parmesean cheese or cheyenne pepper, just white pepper. Add more butter/flour mixture to make a chili like consistency, never thick, unless you like it that way. Just my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family used to eat at Gulliver's and the thing I remember the most is the cream corn. I am so happy I found this recipe, and so is my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States