Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong here but basically followed the recipe (except tried to cut the portions down a bit) and it came out liquidy and bland. Not enough bite/saltiness/sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was an excellent cream corn but I felt it needed something more so I added a couple tablespoons of Parmesan and it made it really rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Griffith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Gulliver's still exists!! There is one very close to the John Wayne Airport in Orange County & there may still be one in Marina Del Rey. If you want thicker corn, mix a little cornstartch with cold water, then add to corn. This is a staple on our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
very good WITHOUT MSG. didn't change it at all - the only thing is that i go in with a masher at the very end to break up the kernels a bit. word of advice - do not try to do this without thawing completely! has been a hit at every holiday dinner for years now. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
LOVE this recipe. Warning to others, I was a little heavy on the cayenne and everyone noticed. I would make it just as it is next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I doubled the recipe and made this for a large Thanksgiving crowd and again for a Holiday party. I omitted the MSG, used evaporated milk instead of regular, and used about 25% less corn than suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My mom and I have been making this dish for years, and it's very popular at family gatherings. We do not use the MSG but keep everything else pretty close. I usually add a can of diced, roasted chiles to mine for a different twist. It's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Only 4 stars but it may have been my fault that it's not a 5. I didn't have any MSG but otherwise followed the directions. The corn didn't become soft, it was still very firm corn. I cooked and cooked it but it still didn't become that creamy texture I was expecting. I did add about 2 extra tablespoons of butter at the end to kind of give it some flavor. I'll try it again using the MSG and maybe a fresh package of frozen corn (mine was kinda old in the freezer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delicious take on traditional southern creamed corn-- though I couldn't help but deviate from the recipe and add a bit of green onion for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I had this dish @ a Holiday Progressive Dinner, where you went from house to house, eating food @ people's houses. The catch: The food that was served was not made by the host family (ladies in the church drew a name of a HOST HOUSE & COURSE, then dropped it off at the house before the party started). Therefore, all the hostess could tell me about this dish was that it had CORN & WHIPPING CREAM. So when I got home that night, I looked it up here & found this recipe. I made it for my ENTIRE family of 22 on Christmas day, served alongside already prepared Ham, Turkey, mashed potatoes & stuffing. No one knew what was homemade & what was restaurant-bought! It was so good ... and so easy to make! My mom is recovering from complications involved with her cancer, so this was the first year that my dad & I were put to work in the kitchen (hince, the prepared turkey, ham, etc). It was fun introductin a new dish & starting a new tradition for us ... and it being so easy for me was the best part. I felt like a GROWN-UP (I turn 30 this year) cooking Christmas dinner for the first time. It was a success! This recipe is DELICIOUS ... and will be used for more than just HOLIDAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreschoolMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States