Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was an excellent cream corn but I felt it needed something more so I added a couple tablespoons of Parmesan and it made it really rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Gulliver's still exists!! There is one very close to the John Wayne Airport in Orange County & there may still be one in Marina Del Rey. If you want thicker corn, mix a little cornstartch with cold water, then add to corn. This is a staple on our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
very good WITHOUT MSG. didn't change it at all - the only thing is that i go in with a masher at the very end to break up the kernels a bit. word of advice - do not try to do this without thawing completely! has been a hit at every holiday dinner for years now. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
LOVE this recipe. Warning to others, I was a little heavy on the cayenne and everyone noticed. I would make it just as it is next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I doubled the recipe and made this for a large Thanksgiving crowd and again for a Holiday party. I omitted the MSG, used evaporated milk instead of regular, and used about 25% less corn than suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My mom and I have been making this dish for years, and it's very popular at family gatherings. We do not use the MSG but keep everything else pretty close. I usually add a can of diced, roasted chiles to mine for a different twist. It's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Only 4 stars but it may have been my fault that it's not a 5. I didn't have any MSG but otherwise followed the directions. The corn didn't become soft, it was still very firm corn. I cooked and cooked it but it still didn't become that creamy texture I was expecting. I did add about 2 extra tablespoons of butter at the end to kind of give it some flavor. I'll try it again using the MSG and maybe a fresh package of frozen corn (mine was kinda old in the freezer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Delicious take on traditional southern creamed corn-- though I couldn't help but deviate from the recipe and add a bit of green onion for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I had this dish @ a Holiday Progressive Dinner, where you went from house to house, eating food @ people's houses. The catch: The food that was served was not made by the host family (ladies in the church drew a name of a HOST HOUSE & COURSE, then dropped it off at the house before the party started). Therefore, all the hostess could tell me about this dish was that it had CORN & WHIPPING CREAM. So when I got home that night, I looked it up here & found this recipe. I made it for my ENTIRE family of 22 on Christmas day, served alongside already prepared Ham, Turkey, mashed potatoes & stuffing. No one knew what was homemade & what was restaurant-bought! It was so good ... and so easy to make! My mom is recovering from complications involved with her cancer, so this was the first year that my dad & I were put to work in the kitchen (hince, the prepared turkey, ham, etc). It was fun introductin a new dish & starting a new tradition for us ... and it being so easy for me was the best part. I felt like a GROWN-UP (I turn 30 this year) cooking Christmas dinner for the first time. It was a success! This recipe is DELICIOUS ... and will be used for more than just HOLIDAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreschoolMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this on Chistmas day and it was a huge hit! I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libitina72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States