Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My family hates canned creamed corn but ate this up. It was really easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
A nice change from canned cream corn. My family enjoyed it with baked ham and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Yes! This is it! I received this recipe from a waitress at Gulliver's in either Burlingame or San Mateo, CA (can't remember which) back in the early '80's. I misplaced my copy and came here to see if I could find it. This is exactly the same and I, too, leave out the MSG. Thanks so much!!! I am glad to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This IS the Gullivers recipe as I remember it. I got the card from the Waitress back in 1986. I lost the card but I am SO glad to find it here! Thank you. (I ALSO make it without the MSG BTW.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I thought this was just OK. With all of the fatty ingredients, I expected it to be a sure hit, but everyone was ambivalent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
THE ABSOLUTE BEST!! Loved it as is, but I made my own recipe for Thanksgiving, and it was/is to die for! I ate a bowl of this for lunch - and yes, I know how packed full of calories it is. It's definitely a once a year treat. My 8 year old son is already begging me to make it for Christmas. =) This is my recipe - http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62197705/Thanksgiving-Creamed-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I cut this in half and used half the amount of salt(used sea salt). I also used fresh ground pepper. I really enjoyed this as did my oldest but my husband and youngest were indifferent. I think had I not browned the flour in the butter, like I was starting a roux, this would have not been as good. I think that step is extremely important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Gulliver's is still open in Irvine, CA (Southern Cali). They give you the real recipe on their website http://www.gulliversrestaurant.com/cuisine.html FYI - Don't leave out the sugar!!! AND Don't add MSG!!! This is my favorite food in the whole world!!! Another FYI - the butter and flour part is much better when done on the stovetop - it is called a "roux".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
What a great side dish! I used 2% milk instead of cream, and I thought it tasted very rich. I can't wait to break this out at Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States