Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
NOW A FAMILY FAVORITE! EVEN THOSE WHO SAID THEY DIDN'T LIKE CREAMED CORN NOW REQUEST THIS!! I HAVE USED BOTH FRESH CORN TAKEN OFF THE COB AS WELL AS FROZEN, BOTH ARE EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is our favorite creamed corn year round! Try it with fresh in the summer corn, mmmm. I lighten it by using 1 C skim and 1 C 2 %, sometimes 1 C half and half instead of 2 %, use Smart Balance instead of butter, no MSG. I also use my stick blender and chop up what would be about equal to 1/3 of the finished corn mixture. Adjust sugar to sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is my 'go-to' Cream Corn recipe for holidays! I'm in So Calif and we still have a local Gulliver's. I've been making this more than 25 years. Got so popular I had to use a 5# bag of corn every Thanksgiving and Christmas! It's just the best in cream corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is very good! A hint: use Bragg's Liquid Aminos or a touch of tamari (richer soy sauce) for MSG's savory/umami flavor. Or add finely chopped sauteed mushrooms if the people eating it don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
One and only creamed corn recipe I'm trying. I have never made creamed corn and have only had it from a can prior to this. WOW its like 2 totally different things, my boyfriend said it was so good I should make it every night. We grow our own corn and was looking for a new corn sidedish to make. It was so good I'm going to make it for Thanks giving I think. I did not add the msg, used fresh ground black pepper instead of white or cayenne, and doubled the flour and butter. Was extra creamy , thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybee05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
AWESOME! Makes a generous amount and is always a crowd pleaser. I omit the MSG just as a personal preference - I have made it both ways (with and without) and can't really tell the difference. Truth be told, this recipe is so good I claim it as my own. No one has to know I'm not a culinary genious, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was good corn, but I think it would be better with fresh corn straight off the cob, vs. frozen corn. It just doesn't quite lose that 'frozen' taste. It's more like corn kernels in a cream sauce, rather than 'creamed corn'. We did add a diced (fresh) cayenne pepper for some heat and it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is good, but I'm looking for another one I found that was a little different. The taste wasn't quite there on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This recipe was good but my way made it amazing. It is a little bland first go round. I made it a second time and played with it and wow it was 5 stars. I cooked up 6 slices of bacon and threw in 1/2 chopped yellow onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I used whipping cream instead of milk. I only used 1/2 cup of cream & added 1/2 cups of chicken broth. I omitted sugar and only used 1 bag of corn. And wow amazing!! I cant wait to make this for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wasn't horrible, but wasn't great. I found it kind of blah. My husband and kid didn't care for it much either. Tasted like corn with thick milk on it. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States