Gulab Jamun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Wonderful recipe. My husband tried it for the first time and totally loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
its the only easiest recipe of gulab jamun that really works giving it more stars cause m very very happy with the result so i will ignore the little fact that dry milk ratio is what it should b so according to the given suggestion i put 1/2 cup more dry milk n then it was possible to make balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is a spectacular recipe! I've tried several LOTS of different recipes from this site and this is one of the BEST! I didn't have any Rose Water or the nuts or raisins so I just left them out. Wonderful! Make sure you brown them enough in the oil so that they keep their round shape. Mine went a bit flat in the syrup. I used more ground cardamom too, my mom and I just LOVE cardamom! I will use this recipe again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I will make this again - it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As other reviewers have said, the dough part of the recipe is off. I added about twice as much milk powder - the dough held its shape at this point. After resting on the counter for 20 minutes, the dough felt almost like rubber and I was concerned, but it turned out great! I also added two cinnamon sticks and a pinch of ground cinnamon to the syrup. Also, when you first drop the dough balls into the hot oil, they will stick to the bottom - I used a wooden spoon to get them off the bottom and they floated pretty quickly. Just move them around for a few minutes and then follow the recipe until the end. I expected these to be mediocre and they were AMAZING. (note: I didn't add any of the optional ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Good recipe. For those who have a sticky dough add more ghee to mixture instead of milk and knead well until it leaves the sides of the bowl. You may also omit the nuts and raisins for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daria Sorhaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It was a very good recipe.... The dough was not really good.... But we sorted that out...please put on the right recipe of the dough. -GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made Gulab Jamun as a surprise for my boyfriend, he is from Bangladesh. He absolutely loved it!!! And so did I! The suggestions are correct; 2 cups of powdered milk are needed instead of 1. Another thing I would recommend is to let the dough rest for about 5 minutes after mixing it! It will give time for regular milk to be absorbed by the powdered one and the dough is much easier to handle! Thank you so much for posting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irina Thiesen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
MOLTO DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abou ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was perfect indeed! I couldn't believe it when I tasted it and found it to be the exact taste as it would be when I buy from a Bombay Sweet shop! Thanks for this wonderful recipe........I am able to prepare this inspite of the fact that I'm not an Indian and am new to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misish Dias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States