Gulab Jamun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
uber tasty. unfortunately the dough doesnt bind, and you can fix that by adding more powdered milk to a good consistency. not too doughy, but just enough that it holds the shape of a ball. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I love gulab jamun, but this recipe doesn't have the right proportions in the dough. Even so, the cooking technique is SPOT ON. If you want to make this recipe as is, just work milk powder into the soft dough by kneading until it is solid enough to hold a ball shape without flattening. Do divide the dough into 20 balls even though they seem small. They are very rich! Also, let your oil cool a bit before adding the second batch by removing it from the heat for a few min. It is important to make the syrup in a large fry pan so there is room for all your little donuts to soak. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is a spectacular recipe! I've tried several LOTS of different recipes from this site and this is one of the BEST! I didn't have any Rose Water or the nuts or raisins so I just left them out. Wonderful! Make sure you brown them enough in the oil so that they keep their round shape. Mine went a bit flat in the syrup. I used more ground cardamom too, my mom and I just LOVE cardamom! I will use this recipe again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As other reviewers have said, the dough part of the recipe is off. I added about twice as much milk powder - the dough held its shape at this point. After resting on the counter for 20 minutes, the dough felt almost like rubber and I was concerned, but it turned out great! I also added two cinnamon sticks and a pinch of ground cinnamon to the syrup. Also, when you first drop the dough balls into the hot oil, they will stick to the bottom - I used a wooden spoon to get them off the bottom and they floated pretty quickly. Just move them around for a few minutes and then follow the recipe until the end. I expected these to be mediocre and they were AMAZING. (note: I didn't add any of the optional ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I'm a big fan of gulab jamun and the recipe for rose water syrup is spot on, but this dough recipe needs serious alteration. The dough refuses to set! After adding what felt like a ton more powdered milk (as recommended by another reviewer), I added more flour and it set perfectly but DO NOT DO THIS. The balls came out beautifully shaped but tasted like rose water bisquick pancakes, lol. I recommend slowly adding nearly double the powdered milk called for and testing the dough frequently until it becomes manageable. Also, to make galub jamun the traditional size (so they stay moist), your dough balls need to be the size of ping pong balls, regardless of how many you produce. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Recipe for dough does not bind, it is runny and not able to form balls from it. I agree with Effie, add more dry milk until able to form balls. I tried adding more flour but it made it too doughy. Next time I will try more dry milk. They should be spongy not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
terrible recipe.the dough did not bind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time, using a bit more powdered milk and less fluid milk, and it turned out delicious! Just like in the restaurants! My husband and in laws were pleased and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
For never having this type of dessert before, I thought it was pretty good. I would give it 5 stars if I knew that this is what they are supposed to taste like. I changed a few things. Instead of the all purpose flour and the baking powder, I used a half cup of bisquick. Also, instead of adding all the milk at once, I suggest adding it a little at a time until a medium hard consistency is created. I then separated the sticky dough into about 18-20 sections. I covered it with a slightly damp kitchen towel and let it sit for about an hour. After about an hour, I was able to roll the dough into little balls without much problem. The key is not to add a lot of milk and to let it sit in order to form the small balls. I then followed the rest of the recipe as stated. The syrup makes them a bit sweet but not too bad. I received positive comments on this dessert so I will probably try making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Really good recipe, a great indian dessert for people who haven't tried something like this before. The cardamom is the secret to success with this. Also be really careful when frying, mine only took about 20 seconds to cook while the recipe says 5 mins! Nice golden little exotic treats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States