Gulab Jamun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
its the only easiest recipe of gulab jamun that really works giving it more stars cause m very very happy with the result so i will ignore the little fact that dry milk ratio is what it should b so according to the given suggestion i put 1/2 cup more dry milk n then it was possible to make balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Recipe for dough does not bind, it is runny and not able to form balls from it. I agree with Effie, add more dry milk until able to form balls. I tried adding more flour but it made it too doughy. Next time I will try more dry milk. They should be spongy not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was perfect indeed! I couldn't believe it when I tasted it and found it to be the exact taste as it would be when I buy from a Bombay Sweet shop! Thanks for this wonderful recipe........I am able to prepare this inspite of the fact that I'm not an Indian and am new to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misish Dias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As other reviewers have said, the dough part of the recipe is off. I added about twice as much milk powder - the dough held its shape at this point. After resting on the counter for 20 minutes, the dough felt almost like rubber and I was concerned, but it turned out great! I also added two cinnamon sticks and a pinch of ground cinnamon to the syrup. Also, when you first drop the dough balls into the hot oil, they will stick to the bottom - I used a wooden spoon to get them off the bottom and they floated pretty quickly. Just move them around for a few minutes and then follow the recipe until the end. I expected these to be mediocre and they were AMAZING. (note: I didn't add any of the optional ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I will make this again - it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I'm a big fan of gulab jamun and the recipe for rose water syrup is spot on, but this dough recipe needs serious alteration. The dough refuses to set! After adding what felt like a ton more powdered milk (as recommended by another reviewer), I added more flour and it set perfectly but DO NOT DO THIS. The balls came out beautifully shaped but tasted like rose water bisquick pancakes, lol. I recommend slowly adding nearly double the powdered milk called for and testing the dough frequently until it becomes manageable. Also, to make galub jamun the traditional size (so they stay moist), your dough balls need to be the size of ping pong balls, regardless of how many you produce. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I love gulab jamun, and had a craving to make it. This recipe was tasty, however it wasn't really like the real thing. The dough was very runny, so I used one of those small ice cream scoopers that you squeeze and it clears out the contents. It made decent balls and it definitely kept me from getting messy trying to work with that pancake-y batter with my hands. I liked the syrup, but included more cardamom and added a twinge of imitation butter flavouring. Basically, even though I enjoyed these, they tasted like funnel cakes with syrup on them (in place of the normal topping of powdered sugar). So yes, still good, but mine didn't really taste like the gulab jamun I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
very tasty.i have been looking for the recipe for gulabjamun for a long time now.this one is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Difficult recipe to get right. The other reviewers were right about the dough not binding. Our batter also came out too goopy, even when we added more and more milk powder, making it difficult to even roll into balls. We ended up with a bunch of deep-fried patties instead, which were still tasty, but not ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States