Guinness® Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jamie Hixson
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tried this tonight..it turned out great!! Family seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hixson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Added a few things. Before dredging the beef I dipped it in an olive oil, red wine, Worcestershire mixture. Then in the flour, salt cayenne and pepper mixture ( needed way more than stated in the recipe so just remade each time needed) browned beef in the skillet, only added one FINELY chopped onion with five or six cloves of garlic ( my boyfriend hates onions) then cooked in a crock pot. Let sit on low for two hours. Then added Half a box of Campbell's chicken broth. One beef cube crushed, carrots and potatoes, a sprinkle of chili flakes. Then turned the crock pot to high. Cooked for two more hours stirring occasionally. Added canned peas, cooked for one more hour . Made tea biscuits for mopping up the delicious gravy. Will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Delicious! Would make it again and add more veggies (turnips, parsnips, more carrots/celery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Treacy Landy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edsyms
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this stew and substituted the beef with leg of Lamb it was so good I couldn't stop eating it also had soda bread and a Scotch on the rocks to wash it down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edsyms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West New York, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My husband came home from work saying he had guinness stew at a pub in Boston for lunch. I did a little digging and tried this recipe. OMG, so delicious.. I will never make plain old beef stew again. I did add some beef broth and extra guinness as suggested to make more broth. The potatoes and carrots took longer to cook than the recipe stated. Next time I may try cooking it in the dutch oven - in the oven - instead of on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I think that this recipe needed some additions. I added extra Guinness because it lacked liquid. I also added extra spices due to the bland flavour. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
In order to really enjoy this, I did have to make some off-the-cuff modifications. First off, it sure takes a LOT more than the specified amount of flour and oil to brown that much meat. I used cubed London Broil and I doubled the batch. Additionally, as there wasn't much liquid specified, I added several cups of beef broth. It would have been horribly dry without that. I used a crock pot instead of a dutch oven which I don't own. Guinness wasn't available so I used Deschutes black butte porter - it has a stronger flavor and color than Guinness. I also don't peel potatoes - carpal tunnel syndrome is a royal pain. The way I did it turned out quite nicely. It's keeping well for leftovers though I wouldn't take a chance on freezing it as it would likely destroy the texture of the spuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious. Very similar to what we had while visiting Ireland. I cut my potatoes and carrots in larger chunks and added them after 1 1/2 hrs of simmering beef because they take longer to cook than smaller pieces. I think the directions mean cover "skillet" instead of "dutch oven" in step five and then add everything to beef in dutch oven in step six. At least that's the way I made it and it turned out great. I also added extra sprig of fresh thyme and a sprig of rosemary. I think you could substitute tsp of thyme and rosemary if fresh not on hand. Add salt and pepper to taste. I also think this would be a good slow cooker recipe. Gave this to friends for a thank you gift and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason Rasmussen
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I enjoyed the recipe and it had a lot of good ingredients but it seems to be lacking on spices. One thing that was quite good was the Guinness as it sweetened the base of the stew giving it a unique taste. The beef chuck roast pieces turned out wonderfully though, quite tender and tasty! I only give it a 4 as it could have used a little extra oomph that I felt was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Rasmussen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Very good stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States