Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very delicious!! I didn't change anything. I made this w/Diane's Colcannon. My husband and boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good but we found it too sweet. if I use this recipe again, will reduce sugar to a quarter of what was suggested. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 4 hours then added veg and an hour later added the cabbage for the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent...I have read a gazillion of the reviews and for the most part followed the recipe to the letter and my family just oved it. In case your having bad results...this is what I did...I used a 13x9x2 pan, rinsed two 4 lb corned beefs and dried with papertowels, rubbed both briskets and both sides generously with brown sugar and browned both sides in a skillet with some olive oil, laid them sideways in the pan to fit pretty tight, used about 16-18 oz of a 22 oz bottle of Guiness Stout (covered 2/3 of the meat), Sealed tight with heavy foil and baked at 300 degrees Fahrenheit (untouched) for 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect! Served with Diane's Colcannon recipe located on this website too...but used half and half instead of milk. Will never boil meat again...braise my friend...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Yummy! Followed recipe exactly but cooked it for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe! This was my first time cooking corned beef. Everyone enjoyed it! The beer turned into a delish marinade for the vegetables (onions, carrots, potatoes. Unfortunatly, the time of cooking was incorrect. I had to add an extra 90 minutes. I cooked it in the oven in a roasting pan on a rack. Also, the recipe never stated trimming the fat off which would be good to add and also which side up when cooking. I will try this recipe again now that I know a few things; it'll be even better!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I will never prepare my corned beef any other way! This was simply the best. I only used half the brown sugar, added the seasoning packet that came with the beef, and a pint of my husband's homebrewed stout. Cooked it in my covered dutch oven for two hours, then added carrots and red potatoes for one more hour, then added the cabbage for another 30 min. Everything was done perfectly, and tasted great. Only wish I had doubled everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was so tasty. Everyone who ate went back for seconds and thirds. It takes longer to cook in a slow cooker so allot about 6+ hours for that. We added veggies in about 30-40 minutes before it was done. The cabbage was particularly delish. Can't wait to eat the left overs, and next time I will buy a larger cut of meat so there's more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
In my whole marriage I had never cooked corned beef for whatever reason. This was so easy and so delicious. Using the tips in all the reviews, we added the potatoes and carrots initially then an hour before serving added the cabbage. I am not particularly fond of cabbage but I loved the almost "sweet" flavor that all the vegetables had and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMRISNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibson City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Make sure you like Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wish I could give this more stars it was so good. I also wish I had bought a bigger corned beef as there wasn't much leftover! The secret is to COVER the corned beef with the beer, it took 2 cans of beer and I added about 1/2 cup water. I also kept it in the oven for an extra hour and added potatoes and carrots to it for the last hour. This was not overly sweet at all, the few leftovers I did have were very good. This is our only way of cooking corned beef now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States