Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used 1 bottle of beer, 1 can of beef broth, and enough water to cover the meat. I also only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it was plenty. I cooked it in thecrock pot on low for about 4 1/2 hours. It was perfect. I made reuben sandwiches and it was a hit. Will definitely keep as my go to recipe for St.Patrick's day. Next time I want to make the Reuben casserole recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
nice. I made some changes. Instead of brown sugar, I used Agave - it's how i roll. And to the two German beers (sorry, it's what I had), I used chicken broth to make the liquid cover the meat; I added bay leaves, garlic, ground chili peppers, salt, thyme, pepper. I roasted in the oven for 2+ hours. I braised the cabbage, onions, and carrots separately. It has been a very nice St. Pat's day, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this today for saint pattys day. My dad who is irish aways did the boiled corned beef, so i decided to try something different. This was tender flavorful and so delish. I normally hate cabbage but this makes cabbage more appealing. My 15 month old loved this. I did cook it for longer to make sure the alcohol cooked out. Will make this more often, i did use another beer cause i didnt have guiness but will use guiness next time. Thanks for a delish recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is the second St. Patrick's day we've had this recipe. Added a few twists myself like those suggested in the reviews. Turned out great. Will use this again even though I still think it's a harsh thing to do to a Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
The only way I knew to do corned beef before this was the usual "boiled dinner". I didn't often cook it because I thought that version was boring. Thank goodness I found this recipe--it is SO good! I do mine in the crock pot and use the spice packet that comes with the meat. I also add a couple of cloves and a bay leaf. I read another review that suggested spreading the meat with a grainy mustard, and I'll try that this year for St. Patrick's Day. I've shared this recipe with several other people, and they've all liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Amazing. The longer you cook it the better it is. Do use the spice packet, and add extra allspice berries, whole cloves, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I make this every year in the slow cooker! Start getting requests from my family in February, if I am going to make MY corned beef this year! They love it! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrymama69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Well here it is the 8th of March,I'm on here looking at recipes for Corned Beef My Fiance'says what you doing Going to Guinea pig me again? Why don't you just use that recipe with that Irish beer you used last year It was so good and I like it that way.So thank you for this recipe It isn't often that he REQUESTS anything. I ask what do you want for dinner and his reply is FOOD.sO THIS WILL BE THE WAY TO COOK CB IN MY HOME FROM THIS DAY FORWARD THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinamarie0372

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortescue, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
this is the best corned beef i ever had every one loved it i made i one this way and one the old boiled way everyone ate all the guinness one about half the boiled one was left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Had always boiled or used a crockpot in the past, but we thought this recipe was terrific, and will not change a thing. Roasting always makes a more flavorful meat than boiling or crock pot. The same with the vegetables you might want to add toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States