Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
the beer overshadowed the original flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I thought the meat was alright, but the vegies weren't. this could just be my preference of how i like to flavor my food, but i won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The Corned beef was excellent. I cooked it in the slow cooker and I ended up using 2 bottles of Guinness and that still wasn't enough...so I improvised and added some XX, it was all we had. Like I said, everyone loves the corned beef. It was gone at the end of the meal. I didn't like the veggies. They had that strong beer flavor. Some of my family loved them. I gues it's just whatever your preference is. This was great and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is a superb recipe. I had never added brown sugar before! Personally, I like the slightly bitter taste of Guinness only, but my family found it a bit too strong. I cut the brown sugar back to 3/4 of a cup, and my friends and family loved it, while I still got a certain amount of bite. I also switched to a crock pot,cooking for 8 hours, and added small potatoes and baby carrots with some onion slices two hours before it was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious! I have never made corned beef before. My bf wanted corned beef hash so i told him 1st i had to make corned beef to get leftovers. I used 3 bottles of guiness, slow cooker on high for 6 hrs, and I didn't add the seasoning packet (since the butcher didn't include one!) I used a flat cut of beef and I added potatoes and carrots for the last 2 hours, cabbage for the last hour. Perfect. Bf said best corned beef he ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This really is exceptional. You wouldn't think the brown sugar and beer would go well together, but the combination of sweet and bitter melds extremely well! I do use the spice packet from the brisket. I cut my meat into chunks, then rub all sides of the chunks with brown sugar. I may end up using slightly more than a cup of brown sugar all told. I then add two bottles of beer and braise for four hours. I make the vegetables separately. There isn't enough room in my Dutch oven for them, and I prefer my cabbage cooked differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
4 stars because the beef was wonderful, but the veggies came out horrible. Tasted completely like beer. Will make the beef in the beer and the veggies seperate. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The meat is delicious cooked like this. Just don't do what I did and cook it in the crock pot with the vegetables. It gave the vegetables a burnt taste. That could be why they are not listed in the recipe!! :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I had never made or eaten corned beef before. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I only make corned beef once a year on St Patrick's Day but after trying this recipe my family has requested it more often. I do cook it in my slow cooker and it is very tender. The beer and brown sugar flavors mix magnificently. I do use the flavor pkg that comes with the brisket. This recipe is awesome, no need to try any others from now on. Thanks for offering this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States