Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is unbelievably good and the kids clamor for it; one thing I do is to save the Guinness for drinking and use the "ethnic" soft drink called "malta" for cooking this; every bit as good and about 75% less expensive...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have been making this recipe for the last 10 years or more! It's a family favorite & now my oldest son is away at college for St Pattys day- he's begging for me to ship some to him! He said it's just not right without his moms corned beef!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I used a beef brisket that didn't come with seasoning and 1 can of Guinness that didn't quite cover the brisket completely so I ended up adding some water. It slow cooked for 6 hrs in the cockpot. The meat was juicy and tender but the flavor wasn't very strong, I liked it though and so did the family but had I served this to others say my parents I'm betting they would've added salt. I served this with an allrecipe for Roasted Root Vegetables and together it was amazing and made up for the mild flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The Guinness does give the corned beef such a unique, wonderfully different taste than the standard, old recipe! I had to use almost two cans of beer to entirely cover, and keep the meat submerged. Also, I went with the suggestions about going ahead and adding the included spice pack that comes with the beef. One warning, do not try to add the veggies too soon to the cooking. Last year I added them in for longer than an hour (maybe closer to 2 or 3) and wow did they turn bitter! The potatoes were salvageable, but the carrots and onions - yuck! But don't skip putting the veggies in, they would have been awesome if I wasn't trying to cook them way too long in beer!!! Enjoy this one, my entire family sure did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was a good change from the traditional boil or crock pot. would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I had never made corned beef before, so I decided to try this recipe because it looked simple. It was easy to make (I used my crockpot) but it tasted like brown sugar and beer- not like beef. However, the flavor was much improved with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I found this recipe 9 years ago when my husband and I began our yearly St Patrick's Day party. So easy and so delicious -- everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Freck Stoyanov

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Ten Stars. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
FANTASTIC! We didn't have Guinness and used Ice House and it was still amazing. BEST EVER. Great recipe -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Joiner Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I personally liked this alot, but I only gave it four stars because my family didn't love it. Not too salty-which is our one issue with corned beef (we don't use salt in our household, lol, so any degree of saltiness is noticeable) Super easy, super tasty, and paired perfectly with Diana's Colcannon, found on this site also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States