Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe many times over the past 7 yrs since I first found it in AR. It is the best corned beef I have ever had. The brown sugar and beer mix with the saltiness of the meat while it cooks, and makes the best tasting broth ever. The coorned beef seems alot less salty tasting as well. I will never make corned beef any other way. The only change I make is I slow cook mine in my crock pot for about 8-10 hrs, remove the meat to rest so it can be sliced..I turn the CP up to high and add red potatoes, onion, baby carrots and cook for 30 min, then add cabbage and cook another 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Whom ever thought that this recipe was tender must have teeth like a horse. I followed the simple recipe to the tee. It was the toughest piece of meat that can be. I spent $20 on a four pound Sy Ginsberg corned beef. It's boil from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Followed the directions and it came out super dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was incredibly sweet! I would consider eliminating the brown sugar altogether or just adding 1T to the stout. The beef was amazingly tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Incredible! Recipe is great as-is but, as many have mentioned, DO add the little packet of spices that comes with the brisket. I also used my Nesco oven/slow cooker at about 225 degrees for 7 hours and it was perfect! Since corned beef is still available a week after St. Patricks I'm gonna stock up and freeze it so I can make this in the summer. Also, Murphy's Irish Stout works just as well as Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good for St. Patty's Day. I did this in the crockpot on high for 8 hours after cutting off the fat. I covered it with 2 cans of Guinness. I also found a great recipe for roasted veggies since I don't care for veggies in the crockpot:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum, yum and yum! This was outstanding. I cut off the fat and made the corned beef with two bottles of Guiness. This was the tastiest and moistest corned beef I've made. A definite "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was quite good. I used almost 3 cans of guinness to cover the brisket and I think next time I might try a combo of half guinness & half beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The corned beef was just ok, a little salty. I put the vegetables in the last hour of cooking and they were so bitter from the beer . I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
DELISH! Give it a shot! You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States