Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wonderful! I usually make this in a crock pot, but it creates such a nice toasty surface this way. I sautee some cabbage in the drippings and dress with black pepper. I also add some ground mustard and garlic powder to the brown sugar which really makes it per my family. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Love this! Corned beef and Guinness are the perfect combo! I did keep in the oven for about 4 hours versus the 2 1/2. Mine was only a 3 pounder. I bought a second one while they were on sale. Think I'll try this one in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this recipe last year in the slow cooker and we loved it! This year I made the mistake of using Guinness Extra Stout and the bitterness really got into the meat and even more so in to the veggies. Good recipe. I simply chose the wrong beer. I must have used the draught last year. Live and learn :-) I will still make it again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made it in a foil-covered pan of Guinness and turned every 45 minutes for a total cooking time of 2:15. Thought it was tough at first, then realized I wasn't slicing in the right direction. Once I figured that out, it was DELISH!!! Steamed my cabbage separately and we had a fabulous St Patrick's Day dinner. This will be our yearly tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Maybe I was expecting too much. . . The recipe was good, but nothing special. If I hadn't poured the Guinness on the corned beef myself I would have never known it was cooked in anything other than water. The sweetness of the brown sugar was there but nothing else. Think I'll stick to my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used 1 bottle of beer, 1 can of beef broth, and enough water to cover the meat. I also only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it was plenty. I cooked it in thecrock pot on low for about 4 1/2 hours. It was perfect. I made reuben sandwiches and it was a hit. Will definitely keep as my go to recipe for St.Patrick's day. Next time I want to make the Reuben casserole recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
nice. I made some changes. Instead of brown sugar, I used Agave - it's how i roll. And to the two German beers (sorry, it's what I had), I used chicken broth to make the liquid cover the meat; I added bay leaves, garlic, ground chili peppers, salt, thyme, pepper. I roasted in the oven for 2+ hours. I braised the cabbage, onions, and carrots separately. It has been a very nice St. Pat's day, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this today for saint pattys day. My dad who is irish aways did the boiled corned beef, so i decided to try something different. This was tender flavorful and so delish. I normally hate cabbage but this makes cabbage more appealing. My 15 month old loved this. I did cook it for longer to make sure the alcohol cooked out. Will make this more often, i did use another beer cause i didnt have guiness but will use guiness next time. Thanks for a delish recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is the second St. Patrick's day we've had this recipe. Added a few twists myself like those suggested in the reviews. Turned out great. Will use this again even though I still think it's a harsh thing to do to a Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Peasley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
The only way I knew to do corned beef before this was the usual "boiled dinner". I didn't often cook it because I thought that version was boring. Thank goodness I found this recipe--it is SO good! I do mine in the crock pot and use the spice packet that comes with the meat. I also add a couple of cloves and a bay leaf. I read another review that suggested spreading the meat with a grainy mustard, and I'll try that this year for St. Patrick's Day. I've shared this recipe with several other people, and they've all liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States