Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good. Made it in the crock pot. It did seem a little dry even though I completely covered the corned beef with guinness. The taste was fantastic tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I am giving this only 3 stars on account of there was very little flavor. I used 2 cans of Irish Stout. Added water until meat was covered. I used the gray flat cut without the added spices in the pouch. I added pickling spice. Just didn't get the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe. Made this for 10 people for a St. Patrick's Day brunch. Even those who said they didn't like corned beef loved it! As another reviewer suggested, I used Murphy's Irish Stout instead of Guinness. It took 3 cans to cover the two 2.5lb pieces of corned beef completely. I didn't bother rubbing the brown sugar into the meat, just put it into the crock pot along with the seasoning packets. I cooked it on high for nearly 7 hours and it came out wonderful. This is definitely my new standard corned beef recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Incredible!! I added the spice packet that came with the brisket and had to up the Guinness to 3 bottles of draught. So amazing... I also cooked a cabbage, an onion , potatoes and carrotts seperately to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
We LOVED it! We put it in the crock pot on low for 7 hours and didn't use a seasoning packet....just Guinness and brown sugar. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The corn beef was tender and moist. I added a few of my own seasonings to bring out a litte more flavor. Overall everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Hands down the best corned beef I've ever had, much less made. I did need 2 bottles of Guiness to cover the brisket, and I cooked it on low in the Crock-Pot for about 10-11 hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
WOW!!! All my kids were not happy about trying something so authentic for St Patty's day but after eating this they are now hooked and already have asked me to make again. I cut almost all of the fat of my corned beef (A kosher one without any seasoning packet), followed the recipe exactly using guinness extra stout. I cooked mine for about 3hours and 15 minutes adding some quartered red potatoes the last 30 minutes anf then some quartered cabbage the last 15 minutes! Definitely didn't need the extra spice pack or any other seasoning! Thanks for a new meal to add to our dinner line-up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Simple and easy. This is the best corned beef I've tasted and this was my first time making it. I used a 3lb beef and since I didn't have a dutch oven, I covered with foil but it took longer to cook. I cooked it for 4 1/2 hrs but it was very tender. I recommend using a tight lid so that it doesn't take this long and you conserve more of the juices. I cooked the cabbage separately, but I put the potatoes and carrots in on the last hour. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
If I could rate it higher, I would. The whole family loved it.. even the 2 year old! The only thing I did different was to leave it in the oven longer.. maybe 3-3 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States