Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I normally make the Slow Cooker Corned Beef for Sandwiches recipe on here, but this was nice. The addition of the sugar was a good move. Not very sweet...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The second time I made this I added a 1/4 cup of whole black peppercorns, 2 cloves garlic and 2 bay leaves (remove bay leaves prior to serving) and cook per the instructions. Absolutely fantastic and definitely better than the written recipe - Make sure your beef is covered and for those wondering, the flat cut works best for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
A vegetarian, shhhhh, made this and her meat eating husband LOVED it and talked for days about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I did not add additional sugar but beef was still great cooked in the guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
My family loved this corned beef. My youngest has already requested I make it again (and he is not a meat eater). Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
FANTASTIC! I was only sad when it was gone. lol No leftovers here! I did need 2 cans of Guinness though. But Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was spectacular! I now have to make it monthly for my boyfriend. I added almost three beers and some chicken broth because I put in a lot of potatoes, cabbage, carrots and onions as well. But it was to die for! I also had put it all into a crock pot and had it cook on low for about 9 hours...the beef melted off the fork and into your mouth, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Seeing as I was working all day I opted to make this in the Crockpot. I used the flat cut corned beef and trimmed most of the visible fat off. I placed the brisket in the bottom and covered it with two cans of Guinness and the brown sugar. I placed carrot and potatoes around the meat and put a few wedges of cabbage on top of the whole thing. I cooked it on low for about 10 hours and when it was done with was out of this world! I can't recommend this combination enough. I'm sure it would be just as tasty in the oven, but for true fall apart, melt in your mouth corned beef the Crockpot works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thepriest
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
5 Stars! The absolute best I've ever made! I made this recipe with the usual sides, but this time I added homemade forest green spicy mustard sauce!! Thanks so much for sharing this lovely recipe!! Update: I Made this again this year 2012, and it does not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepriest
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good. Made it in the crock pot. It did seem a little dry even though I completely covered the corned beef with guinness. The taste was fantastic tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States