Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This really is exceptional. You wouldn't think the brown sugar and beer would go well together, but the combination of sweet and bitter melds extremely well! I do use the spice packet from the brisket. I cut my meat into chunks, then rub all sides of the chunks with brown sugar. I may end up using slightly more than a cup of brown sugar all told. I then add two bottles of beer and braise for four hours. I make the vegetables separately. There isn't enough room in my Dutch oven for them, and I prefer my cabbage cooked differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
4 stars because the beef was wonderful, but the veggies came out horrible. Tasted completely like beer. Will make the beef in the beer and the veggies seperate. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The meat is delicious cooked like this. Just don't do what I did and cook it in the crock pot with the vegetables. It gave the vegetables a burnt taste. That could be why they are not listed in the recipe!! :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I had never made or eaten corned beef before. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I only make corned beef once a year on St Patrick's Day but after trying this recipe my family has requested it more often. I do cook it in my slow cooker and it is very tender. The beer and brown sugar flavors mix magnificently. I do use the flavor pkg that comes with the brisket. This recipe is awesome, no need to try any others from now on. Thanks for offering this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
It was the hit of St. Patty's day. Made 2 and they were gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was very tasty! I did mine in the crock pot from frozen. Definitely use the spice packet that comes with the brisket. I decreased the amount of brown sugar because my brisket was only 2 lbs. Next time I may increase it some. I ended up using 3 bottles of Guinness and some water. I don't know if it was because I used so much Guinness and not enough water or not enough sugar, but my brisket had a slightly bitter aftertaste. Not yucky, just different. My husband, however, loved it. I did add potatoes and an onion in the last hour of cooking time. The brisket came out very tender! This recipe could be played with a lot. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Friend raved about recipe! He absolutely LOVED this recipe, better than wife's or brother's who make it ever year for St. Pat's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love corned beef and have made it many times. This approach didn't really work for me. Beef was moist but still a little chewy even after 6 hours in the oven, first at 300 then at 325. I suppose this could have been the brisket which occasionally can be tough. The potatoes and carrots were delicious, but the cabbage was very bitter, practically inedible. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made this in the crockpot for St. Patrick's Day and was very happy with how it turned out. Next time I'll be sure to get this started sooner, I only had in for 4 hours on high and I think that a little more time would have produced a more tender brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 151-160 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States