Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was very tasty! I did mine in the crock pot from frozen. Definitely use the spice packet that comes with the brisket. I decreased the amount of brown sugar because my brisket was only 2 lbs. Next time I may increase it some. I ended up using 3 bottles of Guinness and some water. I don't know if it was because I used so much Guinness and not enough water or not enough sugar, but my brisket had a slightly bitter aftertaste. Not yucky, just different. My husband, however, loved it. I did add potatoes and an onion in the last hour of cooking time. The brisket came out very tender! This recipe could be played with a lot. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Friend raved about recipe! He absolutely LOVED this recipe, better than wife's or brother's who make it ever year for St. Pat's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I love corned beef and have made it many times. This approach didn't really work for me. Beef was moist but still a little chewy even after 6 hours in the oven, first at 300 then at 325. I suppose this could have been the brisket which occasionally can be tough. The potatoes and carrots were delicious, but the cabbage was very bitter, practically inedible. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made this in the crockpot for St. Patrick's Day and was very happy with how it turned out. Next time I'll be sure to get this started sooner, I only had in for 4 hours on high and I think that a little more time would have produced a more tender brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made it as written..it was OK. Not the be-all and end-all others on this site have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made this using the crock pot and it was wonderful. I used enough guinness to cover the meat and DID add the seasoning packet. I added onions, carrots and potatoes the last hour. The meat and veggies both came out tasting slightly sweet and delicious. I think adding the spice packet that comes with the corned beef really mixes well with the sweet and carmel flavors of the beer and brown sugar. I was very skeptical of this recipe but was reassured when my boyfriend said it was the best corned beef I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe; made it in my big electric roaster. I made eight pounds of corned beef plus veggies for a party....perfect, perfect, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I normally make the Slow Cooker Corned Beef for Sandwiches recipe on here, but this was nice. The addition of the sugar was a good move. Not very sweet...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The second time I made this I added a 1/4 cup of whole black peppercorns, 2 cloves garlic and 2 bay leaves (remove bay leaves prior to serving) and cook per the instructions. Absolutely fantastic and definitely better than the written recipe - Make sure your beef is covered and for those wondering, the flat cut works best for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States