Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The corned beef came out tasting good, basically like the beer. But I think I would rather drink the beer and cook a normal corned beef. While cooking it has a terrible odor that lingers, and if you add cabbage, it will become almost uneatable, due to the taste. But 3 stars because it only says the corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felonious Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SlowcookerSeduction
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
A little bitter but pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlowcookerSeduction

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
WOW! This turned out great! I was nervous to use Guinness, but was happy that I decieded to go for it. A family favorite and new tradition on St. Patty's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I really don't think the Guinness added much flavor. I'll stick to my recipe with pickeling spice with the addition of dried orange peel. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this for a restaurant I worked for and was told by many that is was the best they ever had. I did not change any of the ingredients but I did cook it at 225 for 4 hours. Great flavor and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I made this twice. The first time was awful and I left a review reflecting that. Well, it must have been something I did, because determined to have this for St Pats, I made it again and it was amazing. My guests lvoed t, I loved it. It was a real hit. I think maybe my first attempt I left it in the crockpot too long and the beer/sugar started to burn up a little. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemylila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
The only corn beef recipe I will ever use. I make with the Fried Cabbage from this site. What an incredible meal it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
the beer overshadowed the original flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I thought the meat was alright, but the vegies weren't. this could just be my preference of how i like to flavor my food, but i won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The Corned beef was excellent. I cooked it in the slow cooker and I ended up using 2 bottles of Guinness and that still wasn't enough...so I improvised and added some XX, it was all we had. Like I said, everyone loves the corned beef. It was gone at the end of the meal. I didn't like the veggies. They had that strong beer flavor. Some of my family loved them. I gues it's just whatever your preference is. This was great and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States