Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Best tasting corned beef ever! I added the pickling spice packet too. This is soo good. And I poured liquid into a pot and added veggies to cook. It only took 20 mins! I had tiny tiny red potatoes. Cabbage and mini carrots were perfect. I added the meat back in when it was done. Thanks Shameless Morrow. I also made the guinness bread with it, serving warm bread with honey butter. Enjoy everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
A M A Z I N G ! I made in crockpot with 2 bottles of Guinness beer and the brown sugar. Cooked for 6 hours on high. It has such great flavor. I'm so glad I bought extra corned beef to make this again in a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. It was my first taste of Corned Beef ever and I was not disappointed. My boyfriend and I threw this in the crock pot at 7:00AM. Through out the day I continually rotated it. At 7:30PM it was cooked perfectly. Super moist, falling apart and melting in your mouth. We took the left over Guinness that it cooked in, threw 3 tablespoons of flour in it and cooked it on high heat on the stove top. Made for a GREAT gravy! Yum! This was a total success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JellyBelly326
Living In: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My toddler loved so much had to make twice already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
We did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is the best and so easy! I make it in the crock pot. I rinsed and dried the meat. Put the brown sugar on meat and put it in the crockpot with seasonings. I poured 2 bottles of Guinness over meat (add potatoes and carrots during last 2 hrs) and an awesome feast has been made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was good. I did it in the slow cooker. I loved the sweetness that the brown sugar added. I covered the corned beef with brown sugar and then poured two dark beers around it and mixed in the spice packet. Cooked on low for about 8 hours, then added chopped cabbage and cooked on high for another hour and a half. Wonderful. Next time, I just need to make sure I get the flat cut rather than the point cut, as it was still a bit tough. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Third year in row! This method of cooking corned beef is the only way to go. I made it in a large crock pot with 2 bottles of Guinness Extra Stout and 1 cup heaping (packed) of brown sugar. I needed a little more liquid to cover the meat so I added about 2 cups of filtered water. Guinness flavor is soooooo strong, it does no harm. In fact, I like it a little better with a bit of water. Cooked on high for 4 hours then added quartered red potatoes and peeled 3 inch carrot pieces. Because of the saltiness of the beef, it is good to do a 2 to 1 ratio of potatoes to carrots to make sure there is enough starch presence in the broth to drink up some of the sodium. Threw in some peeled whole smallish onions (leave root attached and they will stay together) at the same time. Cooked it all for another 75 minutes. 30 minutes before serving, put some wedges of cabbage (leave in the core and wedges will stay together). Served with Irresistible Irish Soda Bread I made this morning (added soaked raisins cuz we like 'em) alongside with some whipped butter. It's a fantastic meal and even kids raved! I think they posted something on Facebook about how good it was! Now that's a coup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
To quote my family...."Awesome" best corned beef I ever made. Easy recipe with incredible flavor. Everyone at the luncheon wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was the BEST corned beef I have ever made. My brisket was only 3.3 lbs, so I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 bottles of Guinness stout, and the seasoning packet included with the meat. I trimmed the fat off of the meat, coated the outside with brown sugar, and covered the entire brisket with the Guinness. It was tender, juicy, and melt in your mouth delicious. This is now the only way I will make corned beef. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States