Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was such a great thing to do on St. Patrick's day, I simmered it for 8 hours in my crock pot and by the end of it, everyone was quite hungry and the house still smells delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome !!! I was a first time corned beef maker and this recipe made me a winner ! It was too warm outside to light the oven, so I used my slow cooker - low for six hours. I did add the seasoning package that comes with the beef. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this late on St. Patrick's Day. I used 2 bottles of Guiness Black Lager beer. I used a 4 lb corned beef baked at 350 degrees. I didn't know if it was cooked enough after 2 and 3/4 hours but I took it out of the oven and served it along with boiled potatoes and buttered cabbage & noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I personally loved this, but my family was adamant: they loved the meat, but hated the vegetables. They said the beer caused the veggies to taste too strong. (Guiness is a stout beer and has a strong bitter taste due to the hops.... a definite aquired taste) Maybe better to cook the meat and vegetables separately....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!!! The best corned beef I've ever had. I did use Murphy's stout instead and I also used the spice pack that came with the package. I also cooked it in the slow cooker for seven hours, turning it every 45 minutes. Everyone raved about how delicious it was!! It was just really tastey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonsphinx11
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My husband said this was the best corned beef he's ever had and he would like to have this on a regular basis! I used a cast iron dutch oven and used 2 cans of Guinness to almost completely cover the meat. I cooked it for two hours (flipping it once mid way through) then added carrots, potatoes, cabbage, and onions to the pot and cooked an additional hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonsphinx11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Super easy!! I did it in the slow cooker on high for 8 hours- adding veggies in the last 2 hours and cabbage the last 30 minutes. I added a little water to make sure I covered the meat all the way and turned the meat halfway through the cooking time. I also trimmed the fat off the meat before cooking. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Wellington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Best tasting corned beef ever! I added the pickling spice packet too. This is soo good. And I poured liquid into a pot and added veggies to cook. It only took 20 mins! I had tiny tiny red potatoes. Cabbage and mini carrots were perfect. I added the meat back in when it was done. Thanks Shameless Morrow. I also made the guinness bread with it, serving warm bread with honey butter. Enjoy everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
A M A Z I N G ! I made in crockpot with 2 bottles of Guinness beer and the brown sugar. Cooked for 6 hours on high. It has such great flavor. I'm so glad I bought extra corned beef to make this again in a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. It was my first taste of Corned Beef ever and I was not disappointed. My boyfriend and I threw this in the crock pot at 7:00AM. Through out the day I continually rotated it. At 7:30PM it was cooked perfectly. Super moist, falling apart and melting in your mouth. We took the left over Guinness that it cooked in, threw 3 tablespoons of flour in it and cooked it on high heat on the stove top. Made for a GREAT gravy! Yum! This was a total success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JellyBelly326
Living In: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States