Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was super! ....moist, flavorful, hearty, and relatively healthy. First of all, I did not use Guinness. I had a Smithwick's on hand so I had to make the best of it. I did not have buttermilk so I used 1 Tbsp of lemon juice mixed with 1c milk and let it sit for 5 min. I used splenda brown sugar mix, light butter, and baked it in an 8x6 pan for ten minutes less than stated. It was perfect and just may have to replace my go-to beer bread recipe from this site (whole wheat beer bread). Loved this this one had oats. Also, I wasn't expecting it to be as sweet as it was and may decrease the sugar next time. Although my sweet tooth can't complain. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This bread was awesome. I doubled the recipe and baked it in loaf pans. I thought that two loaf pans would overflow, so I put it in three, but when I make it again, I'll do a single recipe in a single loaf pan. I think that will be perfect. I too served it with honey butter. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have had really good beer bread...but this tops them all and what's even better is that this recipe was so easy I had no problem, whatsoever, following it. I did use quick-cooking steel cut Irish oats in mine and I really like the rustic texture they gave this bread. This bread is sweet, it's savory...altogether delicious...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Try loaf pan next time. Oven Temp seems high at 425 then 400 try 350?. Seemed done after 1/2 hr on outside but inside wasn't entirely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Interesting recipe but I don't think this one is for me. I love Guinness and I don't mind a bitter taste usually, but this one was just a little off for me. It didn't quite taste sweet and it didn't quite taste like Guinness-- it was kind of like drinking OJ after brushing your teeth. The recipe was easy and turned out beautifully, I guess it just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Heavy, tasty bread. I was worried the batter was too liquidy, but it turned out great! Sweeter than I was expecting with only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, but I can't wait to have some for breakfast tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
So dense and good! I made this to go with Beer Cheese Soup V (from this site) and beer margaritas -- it was a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I've never made bread with beer in it before, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I will say with no hesitation that we enjoyed this. The only thing that I did differently was take the bread out of the oven 15 minutes early...it was done. It is a heavy bread, but has a lighter texture than say brown bread. It turned out beautifully moist, not too sweet, with just a hint of the Guinness. It really was delish with butter and honey, but I think this would be equally good with a hot bowl of soup or stew. Thanks Dolly for introducing me to a fabulous new recipe using beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This makes a very hearty bread that is surprisingly versitile. It goes great with corned beef and cabbage as well as the heartiest of soups. I have even had it for breakfast, hot and buttered with a dusting of cinnamon. It is some of the best bread I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Nice moist sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States