Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Yum! Very dense and semi sweet, almost more like a cake than bread. We didn't even put anything on it, just ate chunks while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
So dense and good! I made this to go with Beer Cheese Soup V (from this site) and beer margaritas -- it was a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Interesting recipe but I don't think this one is for me. I love Guinness and I don't mind a bitter taste usually, but this one was just a little off for me. It didn't quite taste sweet and it didn't quite taste like Guinness-- it was kind of like drinking OJ after brushing your teeth. The recipe was easy and turned out beautifully, I guess it just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This loaf didn't even make it out of the pan before it was half gone. We loved the almost sweet taste of it....no extra butter needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
When cooking over Gas, I've found the bread is finished in 30 minutes. Has anyone else found this to be the case? I'm experimenting with variations on the temperature and cook times to try to perfect this for my set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This bread was awesome. I doubled the recipe and baked it in loaf pans. I thought that two loaf pans would overflow, so I put it in three, but when I make it again, I'll do a single recipe in a single loaf pan. I think that will be perfect. I too served it with honey butter. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Wonderful bread that went great with the Guinness(R) Corned Beef recipe from this site! Followed the recipe exactly as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather s
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
goes great with the Special Irish beef stew!! was great at our st. paddy day party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather s

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Was so perfect on St. Pat's day with steak and salad. I was very worried that I was over cooking it, so I did take it out of the oven about 10 minutes early. The bread was extremely moist and flavorful. I don't believe anyone but me knew there was beer in the batter. Good flavor, not overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States