Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was so easy and so delicious. I made it to go with broccoli cheese soup once and served it with honey butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was a good bread, a little bitter for me. I served it to the guys at work with honey butter, and it didn't last long. I will make again without using the extra port beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBIRDSNPLANES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This bread was SO easy to make and really quite delicious. Goes great with soup/stew/chowder, especially on chilly New England fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was super! ....moist, flavorful, hearty, and relatively healthy. First of all, I did not use Guinness. I had a Smithwick's on hand so I had to make the best of it. I did not have buttermilk so I used 1 Tbsp of lemon juice mixed with 1c milk and let it sit for 5 min. I used splenda brown sugar mix, light butter, and baked it in an 8x6 pan for ten minutes less than stated. It was perfect and just may have to replace my go-to beer bread recipe from this site (whole wheat beer bread). Loved this this one had oats. Also, I wasn't expecting it to be as sweet as it was and may decrease the sugar next time. Although my sweet tooth can't complain. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it and will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
WOW...this was great!! I love Guinness, so I knew it was going to be good, but this far exceeded my expectations. It was a great hit for our St. Paddy's dinner, Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Scholten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Heavy, tasty bread. I was worried the batter was too liquidy, but it turned out great! Sweeter than I was expecting with only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, but I can't wait to have some for breakfast tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Exactly what I wanted; tasted like traditional irish brown bread. I will definitely make thia again, exactly as it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This makes a very hearty bread that is surprisingly versitile. It goes great with corned beef and cabbage as well as the heartiest of soups. I have even had it for breakfast, hot and buttered with a dusting of cinnamon. It is some of the best bread I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States