Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This bread is delicious. My wife and ate the whole pan in about 3 days. Try warming in microwave, then adding some butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It's ok. Personally it was too dense without enough flavor for bot me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My husband and I loved this bread - so easy to make! I was worried about it being more like a batter than a dough, but it turned out very well. It reminds us of dark bread that you get at anice steakhouse. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We really enjoyed this bread! I used the vinegar & milk substitution for the buttermilk, and it still worked great. It is also wonderful for breakfast. I used a 9x9, not 8x8, and it really filled the pan. I turned off the oven 10 minutes early - the wider pan was getting it done faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Perfect! I made this for my St. Patrick's Day Party and everyone LOVED it! Easy to make and soooo YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This bread is AMAZING. A little sweeter than you may expect, almost cake-like, but really good, and I love that it uses wheat flour and oats. I took it to our a St. Paddy's potluck and it vanished. I may give it a shot with a tad less sugar, but this recipe will be a regular in my kitchen. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve Salt
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very Very good. Just sweet enough to entice individuals who "fear" the darker breads. And of course, i subbed in Smithwick's instead of Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Salt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have had really good beer bread...but this tops them all and what's even better is that this recipe was so easy I had no problem, whatsoever, following it. I did use quick-cooking steel cut Irish oats in mine and I really like the rustic texture they gave this bread. This bread is sweet, it's savory...altogether delicious...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Just tried my first piece after pulling it out of the often. Warm, with a bit of butter, just great tasting bread. I made a double batch, split it 50/50 in two 5x9 loaf pans. Fit perfect. Only thing I did outside of the recipe was about 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of extra vanilla extract per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Try loaf pan next time. Oven Temp seems high at 425 then 400 try 350?. Seemed done after 1/2 hr on outside but inside wasn't entirely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States