Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This wasn't too bad. I gave it a 4 star only because I didn't think it deserved only 3. The batter was real runny, but baked up fine. My worry pouring the batter was that it seemed too much (I used an 8" round pan), so I poured it to nearly the top, and was able to make 4 mid sized muffins with the rest of the batter. The first round I baked for 25 mins, took out the muffins.. continued baking the round pan for only 20 mins, and left it in the oven for 20. That was plenty of time in the oven. I'll probably make this again, and try pouring all the batter in one 8" round, seeing as how it didn't appear the batter spilled over while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This bread is awesome! It makes your house smell fabulous when you bake it and the flavor is just yummy. It has an almost sweet flavor. Try it and you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe. The bread has a really nice flavor and texture. Mine came out really dark and a bit burned around the edges. Next time I'll take it out of the oven a few minutes early. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is possibly the BEST bread I have ever had!! The flavor and texture are amazing. My kids even asked for seconds on their dinner (which they NEVER do) just to get more of this delicious bread! Thanks for posting, I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelticSparrow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This bread gets more delicious each day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This bread is delicious. My wife and ate the whole pan in about 3 days. Try warming in microwave, then adding some butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It's ok. Personally it was too dense without enough flavor for bot me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My husband and I loved this bread - so easy to make! I was worried about it being more like a batter than a dough, but it turned out very well. It reminds us of dark bread that you get at anice steakhouse. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We really enjoyed this bread! I used the vinegar & milk substitution for the buttermilk, and it still worked great. It is also wonderful for breakfast. I used a 9x9, not 8x8, and it really filled the pan. I turned off the oven 10 minutes early - the wider pan was getting it done faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Perfect! I made this for my St. Patrick's Day Party and everyone LOVED it! Easy to make and soooo YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Chamberlain Den Dunnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States