Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I've never made bread with beer in it before, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I will say with no hesitation that we enjoyed this. The only thing that I did differently was take the bread out of the oven 15 minutes early...it was done. It is a heavy bread, but has a lighter texture than say brown bread. It turned out beautifully moist, not too sweet, with just a hint of the Guinness. It really was delish with butter and honey, but I think this would be equally good with a hot bowl of soup or stew. Thanks Dolly for introducing me to a fabulous new recipe using beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this from the UK site so I converted all the measurements. Then I found it here! I enjoyed the conversions and figuring out the ingredient substitutions. I loved the nutty taste from the oatmeal, the sweetness from the brown sugar and stout taste of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I have had this recipe saved in my box for ages and finally today had the leftover Guinness to make this. It's a bit too sweet to eat with a savory meal for me, but it's going to make a fantastic breakfast bread. I couldn't resist having a piece while it was piping hot and spread with a little fresh butter. YUM! I had just used the last of my buttermilk and subbed plain greek yogurt, and I used 2 Tbs butter and 2 Tbs grapeseed oil. I also had to use dark brown sugar. It didn't matter...it turned out great..crispy edges and a moist interior. I'll definitely make again, and I will probably try muffins next time. Thanks, Dolly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
looks delicious!!! >3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this recipe exactly as written to go with Irish Beef Stew....YUM! The bread is super moist and slightly sweet but went really well with the stew. Hubby & I both think it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This bread is so wonderful and simple to whip together! I used 3 Tablespoons of light butter, reduced-fat buttermilk, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I had Moose Drool beer on hand, and it tastes and smells divine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshusker
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Mmm, this was crispy and delicious. It was a little bitterer than I'd expected, but that's my own fault. Everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
THIS is the recipe I have been looking for since our first trip to Ireland two years ago...we went back again this past week, and I was determined to find THE RECIPE. Thank you, Dolly!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I didn't have wheat flour, so I used all-purpose. I also substituted light vanilla soy milk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I used Irish steel cut oats and Smart Sense spread instead of butter. I cooked it at 425 F for 15 minutes, then 400 F for 15 minutes, then let it sit in the oven. Despite all these changes, it turned out very well. I think it would have been fine cooking as the recipe states, but I like how it came out--crispy on the outside and tender and chewy on the inside. The flavors were a unique treat for my tongue, and I found myself chewing slowly and really focusing on what I was tasting. I will definitely make this again! Very easy, tasty, and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States