Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My family loved this bread, I folllow the recipe exactly and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, California, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This turned out as an excellent beer loaf. A bit different than expected as to the whole wheat only flour. Not hard or clumped together at all, almost cake like and very moist. I liked the dark texture. It went well with our corned beef dinner. The only difference I did, as others suggested, was to use 1/4 cup brown sugar. This yeilded a hint of sweetness, not overpowering the bread taste. Baked in an older USA made pyrex pie pan for the round effect. The odor while cooking filled the house, hard to wait for the meal and bread! This is my new and only dark bear bread recipe. Thank you Dolly, my Irish ancestors would say 'Good on ya fer this one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This bread came as a surprise to me because I really don't care for Guinness beer! So I bought one bottle and went for it based on the statements by two of my Allrecipes friends. I'm glad I did! This is a really delicious breakfast bread. I baked mine in a 9x5 loaf pan as the recipe calls for with the exception of baking it only about 12 minutes after turning down the heat to 400. We did as the author suggested and slathered it in butter and honey. It was a perfect complement to our morning coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe. All of my dinner guests enjoyed this. The only change I made was to bake it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is the first bread I have ever made (at 43). It was easy, and even though my oven is bizerk with temperature, it baked beautifully, and was absolutely delightful. Topping this bread with room temp butter is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this recipe and will make again without a doubt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a tasty bread! Tried it for St Pat's day slathered in Kerrygold. YUM!! Baked it in a cast iron dutch oven. Came out perfect. However I followed a previous suggestion and started with a temp of 400 and dropped to 350. Can't imagine it wouldn't be overdone with a higher temp??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fitmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Hearty bread...good warmed for breakfast with butter and honey with some tea. I had to split the batter in half and baked in 2 - 8" round pans and cut my time by 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was a good bread, but I personally think it's too sweet to eat alongside an entree. It makes a better breakfast bread...with honey butter. Very easy to put together and make. I used white whole wheat flour. I cooked it for the allotted 30 minutes at 425 degrees, but only about 10 minutes after turning the oven down to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is an excellent soda bread. It is a tad sweet so I might cut the sugar in half next time. It baked much quicker than the advised time. I baked it for 30 minutes at 425 and another 15 minutes at 400 and then removed it from the oven immediately. Any longer and I fear it would have burned or just dried out period. This baking time produced a sweet, tender and moist loaf. YUMMY! Thanks for sharing Dolly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States