Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
A friend found this recipe and asked me to make it so she could try it. I now have a LOT of friends who are constantly asking when I'm going to make it again. A fantastic recipe!!!! One of the best cheesecakes I've ever had (and the only one I ever make). I don't do the garnishes, just the cheesecake itself and I use store bought crust, but it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Ellis Pardo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this *almost* exactly per recipe. Fist off it turned out DELICIOUS. I had a lot of the same fears as other reviewers - the batter seemed too runny, it didn't appear fully cooked after 45-50 min with the oven door closed, etc. But it ended up setting beautifully and had a wonderful silky texture. I'm only giving four stars though because the one change I made was reducing the butter in the crust. I made it with about 3 tablespoons instead of a quarter cup. Next time I'm going to try with closer to two because the butter leaked all over the bottom of the pan and the crust did not set up nice and crunchy. I topped the cheesecake with a ganache after it sat in the fridge overnight and took it to Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone LOVED it and raved! It really was delicious and I will definitely make it again... just hope I can get the crust right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Can this recipe work without the irish stout beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I bake a lot of cheesecakes so I have a lot of cheesecake experience with wonderful, successful cheesecakes. This was my biggest disaster of a cheesecake ever. I read reviews and several people addressed the issue of it not setting right. I baked it 10 extra minutes and left it in the oven after it was turned off for an hour. I chilled it in the fridge for a few hours. It looked perfect on top but when I removed my springform pan it completely collapsed. It looked like pudding, with a nicely baked top. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Sadly, mine did not turn out at all. It didn't set and was a soupy runny mess, a tasty mess though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Followed the directions to a T and it was delicious! The cheesecake was a little less dense than my standard recipe. Texture was similar to a mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
It was like mousse and extremely delicious. A keeper recipe. The recipe is fantastic. Rarely do I follow a recipe exactly or measure anything. I usually wing it all with great success but, I did follow this to the letter (minus a few sips of Guinness) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor Keene
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made this cheesecake for 4 guys and they devoured it. I also made it as instructed. 5 stars all the way. High 5 to the recipe poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Keene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wow! I thought this whole recipe seemed pretty odd to begin with, that's why I tried it. Stay away from this one!! I make cheesecakes quite often and this recipe is absolutely terrible. The crust on mine was very soggy and I'm convinced that water bath did nothing to help this cook because when I pulled it out of the oven it immediately started falling apart as if I'd just poured the ingredients into the pan. Don't waste your time or money on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loboxer13
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe and ended up with a wonderful cheesecake! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States