Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great comfort food! Good combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Loved this kicked up a bit with thai chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious! Reminded me of ground nut stew. Toss some tabasco or sriracha on to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
It was really good! Don't be turned off by the ingredients. My three kids saw what I was making and were very hesitant to try to eat the dish but they liked it. I followed the baking instructions for the squash provided by another reviewer. We ate it with sriracha. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really good! Instead of boiling the butternut squash which makes you lose a lot of the vitamins in the water, I put it on a cookie sheet in the oven with a little olive oil mixed in at 475 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I served it with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I searched this site for just the ingredients I happened to have on hand, and I made Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash with folete sauce. (Yes, I always have frozen okra on hand.) It was easy and fast, and it tastes like home. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
What a delicious, filling, and healthy dish! Truly is pure comfort food. I served this over brown rice with greens sauteed with olive oil, sliced mushrooms, and garlic with a splash of soy sauce and rice vinegar. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
A creamy, subtle-flavored dish. DO NOT USE REGULAR PEANUT BUTTER- the sugar will ruin it! The tomato and squash provide naturally sweet undertones, while the garlic, onion and bay leaf infuse the sauce with a savory flavor. I was intrigued by this recipe, and thankfully all 10 of us enjoyed it =) Not to tamper with the "traditional flavor... but I enjoyed this with hot sauce, and imagine that a minced jalapeno sauteed with the onions, or perhaps some red pepper flakes, could add a lot to this dish. Oh, and some chopped cilantro would be excellent too. Thanks for sharing, Anne-Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was only ok. I had planned on making something else when I came across this recipe. I had baked the squash completely. I was unsure about how much the 2" cube should have been cooked anyway. I didn't have natural peanut butter and I used regular peanut butter. That could have made it a little on the sweet side. I combined the garlic, salt, and peanut butter sauce all together. I think I liked it more than my boyfriend did. Thanx for posting this interesting/unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States