Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made with soy nut butter and it was a mistake. I think this would be excellent with sunbutter tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
It was really good! Don't be turned off by the ingredients. My three kids saw what I was making and were very hesitant to try to eat the dish but they liked it. I followed the baking instructions for the squash provided by another reviewer. We ate it with sriracha. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Loved this kicked up a bit with thai chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
If I could rate this recipe any lower, I would have. I followed it to the letter and used the correct type of peanut butter, and the result was a bland, sloppy mess. Increasing the amount of salt and pepper did nothing to improve the blandness; it just covered the taste by making the swill too salty and peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really good! Instead of boiling the butternut squash which makes you lose a lot of the vitamins in the water, I put it on a cookie sheet in the oven with a little olive oil mixed in at 475 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I served it with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious! Reminded me of ground nut stew. Toss some tabasco or sriracha on to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
What a delicious, filling, and healthy dish! Truly is pure comfort food. I served this over brown rice with greens sauteed with olive oil, sliced mushrooms, and garlic with a splash of soy sauce and rice vinegar. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I searched this site for just the ingredients I happened to have on hand, and I made Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash with folete sauce. (Yes, I always have frozen okra on hand.) It was easy and fast, and it tastes like home. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
A creamy, subtle-flavored dish. DO NOT USE REGULAR PEANUT BUTTER- the sugar will ruin it! The tomato and squash provide naturally sweet undertones, while the garlic, onion and bay leaf infuse the sauce with a savory flavor. I was intrigued by this recipe, and thankfully all 10 of us enjoyed it =) Not to tamper with the "traditional flavor... but I enjoyed this with hot sauce, and imagine that a minced jalapeno sauteed with the onions, or perhaps some red pepper flakes, could add a lot to this dish. Oh, and some chopped cilantro would be excellent too. Thanks for sharing, Anne-Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States