Guinataan Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy and taste good! Recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
needs about 2 garlic cloves per pound cicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delish!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Noting the many comments about this dish being oily, I used skinless chicken breasts which I cut into into pieces. I cooked for 30 minutes (others suggested longer cooking times for chicken legs, but that longer time would have dried out the breast meat). Some of the chicken broke down a bit into small "shreds," which was actually nice in the sauce! Not having whole peppercorns on hand, I used slightly less than one teaspoon of ground black pepper. I increased the onion and garlic to my personal taste and used "light" coconut milk to reduce the fat content. Do not leave out the bay leaves -- while not overpowering, they definitely add to the flavor. This was delicious and it provided generous leftovers, as there were only two of us. We served over rice, but I imagine it would be nice over pasta, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
So, this was delish. Will make it many times again. Economical too. I read so many reviews, these were my alterations: more onion, more garlic, more water, 45 minutes, not 30, (you'll see where I mean). And YES......pull the skin and toss it , AND ahhh... Coconut milk is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
i like this!! i think i will try it..i wonder if i can add some greens to make it more healthy. I noticed that on some comments, they said that it was greasy. I dont think the grease is all coming from the kitchen...it also came from the GATA which is the coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmina16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I did not like the flavor of this dish at all. I'm Filipino so I am very familiar with the taste of both adobo and Guinataan so I was very excited to try this recipe. As others stated, it was very oily, and lacked depth of flavors. I added patis (fish sauce) and it helped a little, but the overall flavor of this dish was still disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Some people said it was greasy so thinking of that and adding flavor I browned the chicken first. Drained the pan put in rest of ingredients returned chicken and cooked.It was for 2 so 2 thighs and legs half cup of wine and wine viniger extra garlic and whole can of cocnut milk. Keep temp low and do not break the milk...Add a little cornstarch just before serving to thickien a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This did not taste like the Ginataan I am used to. Definately lacking flavor so I added some sliced jalapeno peppers and patis. Boyfriend liked it- but he's like Mikey, he'll eat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States