Guinataan Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I de-skinned the chicken and I used half the amount of suggested vinegar and added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead. I didn't add salt because it is already in the soy sauce. I also added a bit of cayenne and a pinch of corriander for some extra flavour. Yum Yum - if you make half of the recipe you will have some coconut milk left for coconut rice which pairs so well. Goes well with steamed asparagus on the side. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy and taste good! Recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Smells and tastes wonderful and it's easy. I de-skinned the chicken, as others recommended. Only wish I would've simmered it a bit longer because although it was perfectly done, I kept thinking "fall-off-the-bone" would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delish!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this last night and it was so tasty, I love the flavour the coconut milk adds to the sauce. I'm a big fan of onions and garlic so I added extra of both. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I used chicken thighs with the bones and skins but a lot of fat came out of the process before I added the coconut milk. I probably would try to extract the fat or use white meat. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great! A crowd pleaser for both kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
So, this was delish. Will make it many times again. Economical too. I read so many reviews, these were my alterations: more onion, more garlic, more water, 45 minutes, not 30, (you'll see where I mean). And YES......pull the skin and toss it , AND ahhh... Coconut milk is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Noting the many comments about this dish being oily, I used skinless chicken breasts which I cut into into pieces. I cooked for 30 minutes (others suggested longer cooking times for chicken legs, but that longer time would have dried out the breast meat). Some of the chicken broke down a bit into small "shreds," which was actually nice in the sauce! Not having whole peppercorns on hand, I used slightly less than one teaspoon of ground black pepper. I increased the onion and garlic to my personal taste and used "light" coconut milk to reduce the fat content. Do not leave out the bay leaves -- while not overpowering, they definitely add to the flavor. This was delicious and it provided generous leftovers, as there were only two of us. We served over rice, but I imagine it would be nice over pasta, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
i like this!! i think i will try it..i wonder if i can add some greens to make it more healthy. I noticed that on some comments, they said that it was greasy. I dont think the grease is all coming from the kitchen...it also came from the GATA which is the coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmina16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States