Guinataan Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This did not taste like the Ginataan I am used to. Definately lacking flavor so I added some sliced jalapeno peppers and patis. Boyfriend liked it- but he's like Mikey, he'll eat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nieto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I de-skinned the chicken and I used half the amount of suggested vinegar and added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead. I didn't add salt because it is already in the soy sauce. I also added a bit of cayenne and a pinch of corriander for some extra flavour. Yum Yum - if you make half of the recipe you will have some coconut milk left for coconut rice which pairs so well. Goes well with steamed asparagus on the side. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very good. Next time I would skin and defat the chicken before cooking as it ended up quite greasy. The chicken was cooked after 30 minutes, but tender after 45. The sauce was good before I added the coconut milk, so I might even make this again without to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Some people said it was greasy so thinking of that and adding flavor I browned the chicken first. Drained the pan put in rest of ingredients returned chicken and cooked.It was for 2 so 2 thighs and legs half cup of wine and wine viniger extra garlic and whole can of cocnut milk. Keep temp low and do not break the milk...Add a little cornstarch just before serving to thickien a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this last night and it was so tasty, I love the flavour the coconut milk adds to the sauce. I'm a big fan of onions and garlic so I added extra of both. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
So, this was delish. Will make it many times again. Economical too. I read so many reviews, these were my alterations: more onion, more garlic, more water, 45 minutes, not 30, (you'll see where I mean). And YES......pull the skin and toss it , AND ahhh... Coconut milk is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I did not like the flavor of this dish at all. I'm Filipino so I am very familiar with the taste of both adobo and Guinataan so I was very excited to try this recipe. As others stated, it was very oily, and lacked depth of flavors. I added patis (fish sauce) and it helped a little, but the overall flavor of this dish was still disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Smells and tastes wonderful and it's easy. I de-skinned the chicken, as others recommended. Only wish I would've simmered it a bit longer because although it was perfectly done, I kept thinking "fall-off-the-bone" would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delish!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Noting the many comments about this dish being oily, I used skinless chicken breasts which I cut into into pieces. I cooked for 30 minutes (others suggested longer cooking times for chicken legs, but that longer time would have dried out the breast meat). Some of the chicken broke down a bit into small "shreds," which was actually nice in the sauce! Not having whole peppercorns on hand, I used slightly less than one teaspoon of ground black pepper. I increased the onion and garlic to my personal taste and used "light" coconut milk to reduce the fat content. Do not leave out the bay leaves -- while not overpowering, they definitely add to the flavor. This was delicious and it provided generous leftovers, as there were only two of us. We served over rice, but I imagine it would be nice over pasta, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States