Guilt-Free Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
this really does work! I made it as 20 muffins, with two whole eggs and an egg white, plus a cup of fat free yoghurt, and it tasted great, really fudgy and chocolatey. The texture isn't quite the same - it's slightly more sponge-like and less rich than normal - but it's not unpleasant and certainly worth it for the fat savings... which you can then splurge on the frosting! I used some low-fat cream cheese, mixed with icing sugar and some cocoa powder. Delicious, and an idea I'm going to try on other mixes too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Considering it's low-fat, this cake is awesome. I will definately make again. I made this cake to put into a chocolate pudding Trifle, it was great, everyone rante dand raved about it. We also ate the left over cake with low-fat gelato, which made the perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I have made this twice for parties and it is always a hit becuase it is not overly sweet. The second time I substituted kahlua for the water and made a "frosting" out of powdered sugar and water. The frosting absorbs into the cake so you can't see it but it adds to the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I like this because it was easy. I made this the night before and it was still very moist the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this with 1/2 cup egg beaters and 2 6 oz. yoplait light yogurts. (I used red velvet cake flavor and black forest cake flavor, because it was what I had.) We really liked the cake. I put some chocolate chips on top after I turned it out of the pan. They melted, hardened, and formed a nice variation in texture:) Definitely a good substitute when you have a chocolate jones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I had to make a cake for a staff member who's recently been told to diet. I served this cake to her and the staff, and it was a big hit! Everyone wants the recipe. Very moist. It was a little crumbly, but refrigerating it solved that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Definitely one of the best cakes I have ever made! Since I didn't want to buy the 32 oz container of plain yogurt, I used Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla. It tasted wonderful! My mom (who is on Weight Watchers) couldn't believe a cake soo good could be diet! Added tip: I have tried this same recipe using different flavors. Strawberry cake mix with strawberry yogurt and lemon cake mix with lemon yogurt. Just omit the baking cocoa...it doesn't alter the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
So good! I used vanilla and french vanilla yogurt b/c it's all I had and it tasted great! I will be making this again. It's been 2 days and my family and I have devoured this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was amazing. I used fat-free plain yogurt and did add 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was DELICIOUS! The cake was very moist and no one could tell it was "guilt-free". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States