Guilt-Free Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The flavor of this cake is outstanding. It really doesn't need any frosting. It has a deep, rich, dark chocolate flavor. My only problem was that is was so moist, it was crumbly. Cutting a piece of cake was almost impossible, as it just kept falling apart. Only half came out of my Bundt pan as well, which meant that it was time to make a trifle! I am thinking of making this one into cupcakes next time, as they may be easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I like this because it was easy. I made this the night before and it was still very moist the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this with 1/2 cup egg beaters and 2 6 oz. yoplait light yogurts. (I used red velvet cake flavor and black forest cake flavor, because it was what I had.) We really liked the cake. I put some chocolate chips on top after I turned it out of the pan. They melted, hardened, and formed a nice variation in texture:) Definitely a good substitute when you have a chocolate jones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
We certainly didn't miss the oil! Made as directed, but used the peanut butter glaze(from this site) as a previous reviewer suggested. Rave reviews from the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I have made this twice for parties and it is always a hit becuase it is not overly sweet. The second time I substituted kahlua for the water and made a "frosting" out of powdered sugar and water. The frosting absorbs into the cake so you can't see it but it adds to the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
this really does work! I made it as 20 muffins, with two whole eggs and an egg white, plus a cup of fat free yoghurt, and it tasted great, really fudgy and chocolatey. The texture isn't quite the same - it's slightly more sponge-like and less rich than normal - but it's not unpleasant and certainly worth it for the fat savings... which you can then splurge on the frosting! I used some low-fat cream cheese, mixed with icing sugar and some cocoa powder. Delicious, and an idea I'm going to try on other mixes too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Considering it's low-fat, this cake is awesome. I will definately make again. I made this cake to put into a chocolate pudding Trifle, it was great, everyone rante dand raved about it. We also ate the left over cake with low-fat gelato, which made the perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was amazing. I used fat-free plain yogurt and did add 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was DELICIOUS! The cake was very moist and no one could tell it was "guilt-free". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
So good! I used vanilla and french vanilla yogurt b/c it's all I had and it tasted great! I will be making this again. It's been 2 days and my family and I have devoured this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States