Guava Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is the second time i rated this cake the frist time i gave it three stars, I followed others adivce (witch in most cases works for the better) i changed all purpose flour for cake flour and followed other changes, the cake was heavy and grainy. with a light guava tatse, due to my son cont. to ask for another guava cake i thought i would try this and follow as it was written, witch i did expect i only added five egg whites in stead of 8 i quess i just over looked that part. but even with my mistake this was one of the best cakes i ever made, it was light fluffy,not to sweet its light on guava flavor but it does come through so i topped it with a guave buttercream and wow they balanced out so nicely i am so happy i gave this another try, it looks like i will be making this a lot.. the only thing i did differnet was used frozen guava pulp and used almost a cup of that, i cont find the nectar, but if you make this cake, follow as written and you will be happy you did..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a very good and light summer dessert. I made a glaze to go on top of each cake layer by heating up guava nectar with powdered sugar and corn starch. After the nectar thickened and cooled off on the sove, I put it in the fridge, and covered the cake with it the next day. It was nice and thick and delicious. I frosted the sides of the cake with cream cheese frosting mixed with whipped cream, and the top of the cake with just the whipped cream. Everyone loved it. Definitely make a guava glaze to get the guava flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The cake is a perfect base for strawberry shortcake! I've made this twice--both times using cake flour. I used nectar the first time and undiluted/thawed concentrate the second time and couldnt really tell much of a difference in flavor. The guava sauce is good. Never bothered frosting the cake so the review is just for the sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Please use cake flour instead of all-purpose. At least half the quantity. Also, did not use red food coloring- no reason to make it schmancy for internal use. However for a party that would be festive! Delicious! I frosted with a pineapple-cream cheese frosting, which was delicious, but I would like to try with guava glaze and whipped cream like some other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe to a tee, and was dissapointed. It didn't have the chiffon-like texture I was anticipating. It was a lot denser than other guiava cakes I've had. Perhaps it would have been better using cake flour. The taste was okay, but you can achieve similar taste with less work by doctoring a white cake mix with guava nectar juice. Excellent topped with guava glaze. I found other recipes online. (Side note- an actual picture of the cake would be appreciated instead of what I'm guessing is a stock photo since that I've seen this same pic posted on several other websites)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
will try to make but dont have that much of ingredients. can u guys help me find a replacement for the zest and other thins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My DH absolutely loves this cake. Since discovering this recipe I have made it four times in two months lol. I made a glaze to go in the middle for a little extra quava flavor but my dh thought it was too bitter so I mixed the glaze with some cream cheese frosting and wow it was fantastic. Making it for his birthday again today. One to keep for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
It's okay, not impressed by it. Definitely Hawaiian style. It wasn't spongie enough for me. Followed the recipe to the "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Made this as my own birthday cake and loved it!! I frosted it with whipped cream and made some guava glaze to go in the middle and on top. Everyone loved it and I ended up making it just a week later for 20 people. For the glaze I used 1 c. guava concentrate thickened by 2 T. corn startch and 2 T. water. Thats enough to put between 3 layers and go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this 5 times in the past week. I wanted guava chiffon cake w/whipped cream and guava topping. Cake flour is the only way to go to get the light, fluffy chiffon. All-purpose flour creates a denser and sometimes fallen cake. Use frozen guava juice concentrate (or passion fruit) in batter for a stronger flavor. 1 c. of egg whites is enough (6 jumbo/7 large eggs), just beat them until very stiff to hold volume. If not beaten long enough, you’ll have baked guava pudding. For guava topping, the ideal recipe is 1 c. concentrate thickened on stove with previously mixed 1 T. corn starch and 2 T. water. I only had guava pulp (Goya brand) available and made my own concentrate: 2 c. guava pulp with 1/4 c. sugar to reduced to 1 c. I thickened with the corn starch/water mixture.* When desperate, thin some guava jam with water, and it works fine! *Using the reduced pulp in the cake makes for a flavorful though denser cake, more like guava bread. I wouldn’t recommend it if you want a real chiffon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States