Gruyere Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My husband & I really enjoyed this, nice rich flavour. Imagine 'gourmet' scalloped potatoes with swiss cheese. It was a delicious side with my breaded chicken cordon bleu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a great dish! I was looking for a scalloped potato recipe, wanting to get away from the traditional gratins using yellow cheese, and stumbled upon this. It's kind of a cross between a scalloped and a gratin, and is absolutely heavenly. I made it exactly as the recipe says and it came out perfect. I didn't add or change a thing and it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau'sCookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Super! Forgot my recipes on our Christmas trip this year and this site saved me! My oven required a longer cook time, but otherwise this was just like my recipe at home. I added some thawed frozen spinach for color! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
After the glowing reviews, I made this for Christmas. I did not care for this recipe. I love wine taste in things, but there was way too much in this that it drowned out the cheese. And the sauce did not thicken up at all and was a watery mess. Nobody ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Easy and very tasty. I sliced the potatoes with the food processor so they were very thin so I didn't cook it for as long. I used red potatoes ans didn't peel them. I also used less cream and they were still plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a pretty decent, simple recipe. I substituted stock for the wine and it came out nicely. No real complaints, but it doesn't really WOW in my opinion either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt R

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Followed directions and ended up with a layer of burnt potato slices on the bottom of the pan. I tried to salvage the dish by scraping out the center, but even the unburnt parts tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I cooked for a total of two hours and it was still very soupy. If I do it again, I will reduce the liquid and also reduce the onions. The proportion of onions to potatoes left an overwhelming onion flavor that was much too strong for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I cut the amount of water and wine in half and stirred the potatoes halfway through baking. The potatoes cooked up nicely and the sauce was thick enough, but I found it to be a little bland. If I make it again, I will add more butter and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was a spectacular success! I added 3 links hot Italian sausage (cooked, crumbled, and very well drained), and used Riesling for the wine. Instead of using a 9x13 pan, I used 4 smaller individual broiler pans. Truly an easy and spectacular dish that will absolutely be a regular part of my repertoire. Thanks, Cindy and Cindy's Grossmutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States