Gruyere Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is a very rich gratin. From the gruyere, to the white wine, to the butter, to the cream - this is not for the figure conscious! For me, that doesn't matter when it tastes this good. It is a little on the salty side in my opinion, so be careful with adding too much salt to taste when tossing the potatoes and onions in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I don't know what problem other people had but I fix this just like it said to do and only I set it out for 10 minute before serving. I will be making this for Easter to go with ham. It is better then scallops. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sterfanerf
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Reduced the liquid as suggested and halved it. May have led to some of the potatoes being overlooked but very interesting flavor! I will make this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I added some sliced zucchini to the potatoes and it was a bit saucy at the end.... but the more to soak up with bread : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I loved this dish, but I made a few minor changes having read the other reviews. I halved the amount of wine, used chicken broth instead of water, halved the amount of onions and baked it without the foil cover for the last 20 minutes before adding the cream. I've also used smoked gouda in this recipe and it's fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The whole family loved this dish they said that next time i needed to double the recipe so they could all have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Instead of wine and water, use 2 cups of heavy cream, only 1 onion, 2 cups of Gruyere Cheese, and 2 lbs of potatoes. option layer potatoes with 1 14oz can of well drained artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I loved the dish that I made it would of been 5 stars but the few little changes i did i think would have put it there. trader joes has gruyere and chedder in one that i used i also probly used a more then what it called for. I also probly used a little more for the cream and butter for buttering pan. then to top it off after you finished recipe soak some panko it melted butter enough to spread on the top not evenly but enough then in the broiler for a few minutes till the panko turns brow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrDead25

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wow, these were so delicious! Made them on Christmas Day, to go with a Prime Rib. I eliminated the onions and added some extra cheese- swiss/gruyere mixture. Maybe next time I will use slightly less liquid but they were still a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great recipe and really puts a twist on potatoes au gratin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emberjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States