Gruyere Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
LOVED IT! It was the number one dish at Thanksgiving. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was a spectacular success! I added 3 links hot Italian sausage (cooked, crumbled, and very well drained), and used Riesling for the wine. Instead of using a 9x13 pan, I used 4 smaller individual broiler pans. Truly an easy and spectacular dish that will absolutely be a regular part of my repertoire. Thanks, Cindy and Cindy's Grossmutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a great dish! I was looking for a scalloped potato recipe, wanting to get away from the traditional gratins using yellow cheese, and stumbled upon this. It's kind of a cross between a scalloped and a gratin, and is absolutely heavenly. I made it exactly as the recipe says and it came out perfect. I didn't add or change a thing and it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau'sCookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The whole family loved this dish they said that next time i needed to double the recipe so they could all have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I don't know what problem other people had but I fix this just like it said to do and only I set it out for 10 minute before serving. I will be making this for Easter to go with ham. It is better then scallops. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My husband & I really enjoyed this, nice rich flavour. Imagine 'gourmet' scalloped potatoes with swiss cheese. It was a delicious side with my breaded chicken cordon bleu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Super! Forgot my recipes on our Christmas trip this year and this site saved me! My oven required a longer cook time, but otherwise this was just like my recipe at home. I added some thawed frozen spinach for color! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Easy and very tasty. I sliced the potatoes with the food processor so they were very thin so I didn't cook it for as long. I used red potatoes ans didn't peel them. I also used less cream and they were still plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Loved it. However, I used only one onion and then put 3 tablespoons butter with 5 garlic cloves fined chopped - saute - then pour over the top layer of potatoes. Served with green peppercorn steak - it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Instead of wine and water, use 2 cups of heavy cream, only 1 onion, 2 cups of Gruyere Cheese, and 2 lbs of potatoes. option layer potatoes with 1 14oz can of well drained artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States