Gruyere Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was so easy and tasty. What I loved about this dish was that it did not require canned soup. I had all the ingredients on hand also. Was a winner with the family and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
LOVED IT! It was the number one dish at Thanksgiving. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Loved it. However, I used only one onion and then put 3 tablespoons butter with 5 garlic cloves fined chopped - saute - then pour over the top layer of potatoes. Served with green peppercorn steak - it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was a spectacular success! I added 3 links hot Italian sausage (cooked, crumbled, and very well drained), and used Riesling for the wine. Instead of using a 9x13 pan, I used 4 smaller individual broiler pans. Truly an easy and spectacular dish that will absolutely be a regular part of my repertoire. Thanks, Cindy and Cindy's Grossmutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I cut the amount of water and wine in half and stirred the potatoes halfway through baking. The potatoes cooked up nicely and the sauce was thick enough, but I found it to be a little bland. If I make it again, I will add more butter and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I cooked for a total of two hours and it was still very soupy. If I do it again, I will reduce the liquid and also reduce the onions. The proportion of onions to potatoes left an overwhelming onion flavor that was much too strong for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Followed directions and ended up with a layer of burnt potato slices on the bottom of the pan. I tried to salvage the dish by scraping out the center, but even the unburnt parts tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a pretty decent, simple recipe. I substituted stock for the wine and it came out nicely. No real complaints, but it doesn't really WOW in my opinion either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt R

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Easy and very tasty. I sliced the potatoes with the food processor so they were very thin so I didn't cook it for as long. I used red potatoes ans didn't peel them. I also used less cream and they were still plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
After the glowing reviews, I made this for Christmas. I did not care for this recipe. I love wine taste in things, but there was way too much in this that it drowned out the cheese. And the sauce did not thicken up at all and was a watery mess. Nobody ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States